Oregon License COVID-19 Renewal Deadline

Temporary Renewal Deferment

Any Oregon contractors who have not renewed their license only have a few days left before the COVID-19 deferral deadline arrives. 

At the start of the pandemic, the Oregon Construction Contractors Board (CCB) automatically enrolled all contractors with an active license that expired between March 1st –  September 14, 2020 into a renewal grace period. 

With the deadline quickly approaching, here’s how to complete your required CE and renew your license from anywhere – even your home! 

Finish Your CE On Your Own Schedule

No matter how many CE credit hours you still need to complete before renewing your license, we’ve got the selection for you. Our video and narrated courses are completely online, and available 24/7 from any device with an internet connection. You can choose course packages that cover all the bases, or pick individual classes based on your interests.  View Courses

Renewal FAQ

I can’t remember if I submitted my renewal application. How can I tell?

Look up your CCB number on the CCB search page at http://search.ccb.state.or.us/search/.

If your license is deferred, the record will show that your license is active, but the expiration will be a date in the past. If you recently renewed your license, the record will show that your license is active and the expiration date will be a date in 2022.

I just submitted my renewal application a few days ago. How can I tell if it’s been received?

Check your bank statement. If the payment has gone through, then the application is being processed.

I didn’t get a renewal application in the mail. Why not?

CCB now sends postcards to remind contractors to renew, instead of full paper applications. If you are not able to renew online and require a paper application, send an email to ccb.info@state.or.us, or call 503-378-4621.

Oregon Contractors, Get Licensed & Stay Licensed or Face Fines

The Oregon CCB recently updated their Buyer Beware list with contractors that are wanted for working without a license and scamming customers. Most of the contractors on this list are known for taking large payments up front and providing sub par work or no work at all. Gregory Mason Miller holds the highest debt at $311,105.52 - he was sentenced to five years in prison on June 6, 2018.

While the Buyer Beware list holds the worst of the worst, there are over 50 companies and contractors on the Civil Penalties list in December 2019 alone. Most of the contractors on this list have incurred a $1,000 fine for failing to have a license or permit. However, contractors and construction companies that have a formal complaint filed by a customer incur a $5,000 fine.

If you want to avoid fees and jail time, make sure your license is up-to-date. Below are a series of common questions and answers about getting licensed & staying licensed in Oregon.

How do I get an Oregon Contractor License?

To become a licensed contractor in Oregon you must:

  1. Complete a State-approved 16-hour exam prep training course.
  2. Register and pass the Construction Contractors Board’s statewide test.
  3. File your assumed business name, corporation or LLC at the Oregon Corporation Division
  4. Obtain and submit a CCB surety bond in the required amount.
  5. Obtain and provide proof of general liability insurance in the required amount.
  6. Provide evidence of worker’s compensation and other employer account numbers if applicable.
  7. Apply for and get the State BIN (Business Identification Number) number from the Oregon Dept. of Revenue and write it on the application.
  8. Apply for and get the Federal EIN from the IRS.  Do not substitute a Social Security Number for the EIN number.
  9. Apply for your license with the CCB by submitting an application with the $325 fee for two years. You must apply for your license within 24 months of passing the State Exam.  Applications can be obtained from:  http://www.oregon.gov/ccb

Is contractor continued education required in Oregon?

Yes. The following CE hours are required for each two-year licensing period:


If you have been licensed less than six years and the responsible managing individual (RMI) has less than six years’ experience you must complete 16-hours of continuing education including:

  • CCB Laws, Regulations, and Business Practices (LRB) 3 Hours
  • Series A courses (Construction business practices, safety, and building codes) 5 Hours
  • Series A courses (as above) or Series B courses (Trade practices and energy efficiency) 8 Hours

If you have been licensed more than six years you must complete 8-hours of continuing education including:

  • CCB Laws, Regulations, and Business Practices (LRB)  3 Hours
  • Series A courses (Construction business practices, safety, and codes) 5 Hours


All CCB commercially endorsed contractors that renew a commercial CCB license. Training can be taken by any “key” employee of the business.

Commercial licenses have no Series A, B, or Law, Rules, and Business Practices requirements. Continuing education is not reported to the CCB. Licensees are required to keep proof of completing continuing education.

Commercial Contractor Level 1

  • 5 or more Key Employees = 80 Hours Required
  • 4 Key Employees = 64 Hours Required
  • 3 Key Employees = 48 Hours Required
  • 2 Key Employees = 32 Hours Required
  • 1 Key Employee = 16 Hours Required

For more information on requirements, please follow this link: http://www.oregon.gov/CCB/education/Pages/continuing-ed.aspx

Commercial Contractor Level 2

How do I renew my Oregon contractor license?

  1. Complete the appropriate continuing education (see above)
  2. Log in to the CCB renewal site.
  3. Pay the $250 renewal fee


This was a great course. The instructor was very knowledgeable. *****
Anthony D.
Live Chat