Choose Your State and Get Started
Minnesota Building Contractors, Do You Know Your Renewal Requirements?
It is extremely important to keep up with Minnesota's State license renewal requirements. A lapse in licensure could cost you valuable time and money.
Here’s what you need to know.
Currently licensed Building Contractors are required to complete 14 hours of continuing education every two years by the anniversary of licensure. Builders License Training Institute will help you meet those requirements with your choice of 3 Complete 14-hour Renewal Packages. Save money with a package or choose any combination of state-approved continuing education courses for license renewal. They’re mobile friendly, online anytime, fast, easy and convenient!
Are there penalties for violating license law?
The Minnesota Residential Contractor FAQ’s webpage states - A person whose company is required to be licensed and who performs unlicensed work as a residential building contractor or remodeler is guilty of a misdemeanor. In addition, an unlicensed person who knowingly violates the law has no right to claim a lien and the lien is void. Individuals engaging in unlicensed activity, misrepresentation or fraud are subject to administrative and civil penalties.
The Minnesota Department of Labor and Industry provides documentation of Residential Building Contractor Enforcement Actions. There are more than 30 pages of contractor consent orders and other enforcement actions dated January 1- through December 21, 2018. Many of which were cited for working without a license and fined thousands of dollars.
Don’t let your license lapse! Check out the Builders License Training Institute and prepare for your license renewal requirements today. You’ll be glad you did!