Now Is The Time To Get Your Michigan Builders or M&A License

The Construction Industry is experiencing an increase in activity. But, the number of workers needed to accommodate this boom in building are in very short supply. Now is the time to get your Michigan Builders License!

Who needs a Michigan Residential Builder and M&A Contractor License?
Anyone doing residential construction work over $600 must hold a license.

What are the steps in obtaining a Michigan Builder or M&A Contractor license?

Where can I take the 60 Hour Prelicensure Program?

The 60 Hour Prelicensure Program is offered both online and in a classroom setting.
Classroom locations include Grand Rapids, Novi, and Troy.  Each classroom course is a 6-day super fast-track program.  Click HERE for locations and dates.

Online prelicensure courses are available 24/7 and can be taken from any computer or mobile device with internet access. You choose when and where to study! Printable certificates of completion are available at the end of each class.

The Basic 60-Hour Package costs $369, the Code Book 60-Hour Package is $484.  There’s also a Dual Book 60-Hour Package for $555.

Each package includes a complete step-by-step guide to getting licensed, comprehensive exam prep program in video with printable text, a construction math course, hundreds of practice questions, a candidate information bulletin and a free social media marketing for construction trades video course! All the tools you need to complete the 60-hour requirements and PASS THAT EXAM!

Do I need to buy books?

There are two books available to purchase individually or included in a money-saving course and book package. The Michigan Residential Code Book 2015 (the most current version) and Carpentry and Building Construction 2016 Edition. Free shipping is included to all 50 states!

The State of Michigan requires all builders and contractors to own the most current copy of the Michigan Residential Code Book including those taking the state exam to become licensed. You can purchase a copy for $145 or save money by purchasing it with as part of a package.

The Carpentry and Building Construction 2016 Edition is a comprehensive carpentry book is recommended as a helpful text in studying for the trades exam. We highly recommend purchasing this book as a helpful study tool to prepare for your exam. You can purchase a copy for $110 or save money by purchasing it with as part of a package.

What can I expect from the State Exam:

The exam is comprised of two main parts:

Part 1 - Business and Law Exam – There are 50 questions on the exam, and you must answer at least 36 of them correctly in order to pass. The minimum passing score is 72%. You are allowed 75 minutes to complete the exam.

Part 2 - Trades Exam – The Trades Exam is different for the Individual Residential Builder and the Maintenance & Alteration licensing:

  • Residential Builder Trades Exam – There are 100 questions on the Residential Builder exam, and you must answer at least 73 questions correctly in order to pass. The minimum passing score is 73%. You are allowed 150 minutes to complete the exam.
  • Maintenance & Alteration Trades Exam – A separate trade exam is required for each trade you wish to be licensed in. Each trade exam ranges from 25 to 50 questions. Please click on the link below for the PSI candidate information bulletin.

candidate information bulletin is included with the 60-Hour prelicensure course which outlines the topics covered on the exam.

Everything you need to study for the state exam is included in your course. Our exam prep programs will ensure you pass the exam the first time. We even offer a 100% money back guarantee with every online exam prep.

What are you waiting for? Get started TODAY!

Michigan Builders License Exam Prep & State Approved Continuing Education

Now Is The Time To Get Your Michigan Builders CE

Now is the time to complete your state required continuing education before the springtime calls you out to work. Take advantage of dreary damp post-winter days by using your downtime to complete that state required continuing education online in HD video before the deadline!

Michigan Builders and M&A Contractors licensed less than 6 years must complete 21 hours of state-approved continuing education. Those licensed more than 6 years are required to complete a 3-hour code, law and safety course.

The Builders License Training Institute makes it easy to meet state continuing education requirements at home in your spare time, in your truck or anywhere there’s internet using your tablet or cell phone! Most lessons are only 15-20-minutes long, so it’s easy to stop and start. Plus, there are NO TESTS! You choose when and where to complete them. Once you’ve completed a course, just print the certificate of completion. It’s THAT easy!

Packages are available to meet both the 3-hour and 21-hour requirements, or you may create your own 21-hour program with a vast selection of interesting and informative a-la-carte courses. State approved courses such as Drones in Construction, Building on Budget By Design, Construction Documents For Successful Projects and Getting Decked: And Choosing How That Happens are among the many interesting subjects to choose from.

Code official and Manufactured Homes continuing education is also available. Check them out HERE.

What are you waiting for?  Get started NOW!

Michigan Builders License Exam Prep & State Approved Continuing Education

The Future Looks Bright For Michigan Builders

The construction industry nationwide is experiencing an increase in activity and a lack of workers necessary to get the job done. Workers are in high demand and companies are struggling to find the help they need to complete upcoming projects. Michigan is no exception.

According to 2019 Construction Economic Forecast released in December of 2018 the “Total of all (U.S. Construction) spending is forecast to increase 6.0% to 1.321 trillion in 2018 and 1.5% to 1.341 trillion in 2019. Spending in 2020 is forecast to reach $1.426 trillion.”

GET YOUR MICHIGAN BUILDERS LICENSE
Take advantage of the upswing in construction by getting a Michigan Builders License in three easy steps

  1. Complete an approved 60 Hour Program
  2. Send a license application, Certificates, and $195 to the state.
  3. Pass the state exam (Our online & classroom 60-hour programs come with free exam prep)

Online & classroom 60-hour courses are available at the Builders License Training Institute.  There’s even a money-saving Course and Code Book Package!

MAINTAIN YOUR MICHIGAN BUILDERS LICENSE
Currently licensed Michigan Builders are required to complete continuing education every three years.

  • Builders and M&A Contractors licensed less than 6 years must complete 21-hours of continuing education.
  • Builders and M&A Contractors licensed more than 6 years must complete a 3-hour code, law, and safety course.

The Builders License Training Institute will help you meet those requirements with online courses available anytime 24/7 from any computer or mobile device. You choose when and where to complete your courses.

Choose from a 3-hour code-law-safety course, a 21-hour continuing competency package or create your own package with a variety of interesting courses in our a la carte selections designed to meet state license renewal requirements. They’re all online anytime 24/7, fast, easy and convenient!

If you need a copy of the most current codebook, we’ve got that too! We even offer Code Official CE. 

Don’t wait, get started on your state required continuing education today!  Start HERE

Michigan Builders License Exam Prep & State Approved Continuing Education

I found the (MI 60-Hour) class both extremely informative and highly entertaining. The instructor and classmates had a lot to share.
Thomas Levine – Michigan
Live Chat