National Programs

Free Shipping

Subscribe to our mailing list

* indicates required

Handyman Licensing Information by State

 

Thinking of becoming
a Handyman?

Each state has varying requirements for licensure. Some require anyone doing construction work to hold a specific license type, while others do not require a license at all if the contractor is below a certain income level.


Click on the state title for additional information on Prelicensure and Continuing Education.

ALABAMA
The state of Alabama requires any individual working on a commercial or industrial project costing $50,000 or a residential project that costs $10,000 or more to get a license.

ALASKA
Anyone who performs residential remodel work of less than 25% of the value of the structure must have a General Contractor without Residential Contractor Endorsement.

Anyone who performs new home construction and residential remodel work of more than 25% of the value of the home or structure being altered is required to have a General Contractor License with Residential Contractor Endorsement

ARIZONA
Any individual who contracts or offers to contract to build, alter, repair, add to, subtract from, improve, move, wreck or demolish any building, highway, road, railroad, excavation or other structure, development or improvement, or to do any part of the work must be a licensed contractor.

ARKANSAS
To bid and work on construction projects in Arkansas that cost $20,000 or more, you must get a contractor’s license.

CALIFORNIA
California Law requires all businesses or individuals who construct or alter any building, highway, road, parking facility, railroad, excavation, or other structure in California must be licensed by the California Contractors State License Board (CSLB) if the total cost (labor and materials) of one or more contracts on the project is $500 or more.

COLORADO
Requirements differ by municipality.  Contact your local county government to determine requirements

CONNECTICUT
Any person or business who builds a new home needs a valid Certificate of Registration.  Home Improvement Contractors must also be registered.  If you do both kinds of work, you need two registrations.

DELAWARE
Any person engaged in the business of furnishing labor and materials in connection with all or any part of the construction, alteration, repairing, dismantling or demolition of buildings, roads, bridges, viaducts, sewers, water and gas mains and every other type of structure as an improvement, alteration or development of real property

Also, any person, partnership, firm, corporation or other business entity which enters into a contract directly with a prime contractor or another subcontractor

FLORIDA
To do construction in the State of Florida, all contractors must have a Certified License or Registered License.

GEORGIA
Building projects that are $2500 or more (other than on your own home) require a license.

HAWAII
Anyone who contracts to perform residential, commercial, or public works construction, alterations, or improvements must hold a contractor license.  A license is not required if the aggregate contract price for the project, including labor, materials, taxes, and all other items, is not more than $1,000 and does not require a building permit.

IDAHO
Requirements differ by municipality.  Contact your local county government to determine requirements.

ILLINOIS
Requirements differ by municipality.  Contact your local county government to determine requirements

INDIANA
Requirements differ by municipality.  Contact your local county government to determine requirements

IOWA
All individual contractors and businesses performing construction work within Iowa must be registered if they earn more than $2,000 a year.

KANSAS
Requirements differ by municipality.  Contact your local county government to determine requirements

KENTUCKY
Requirements differ by municipality.  Contact your local county government to determine requirements

LOUISIANA
Commercial projects of $50,000 or more require a license. A license is required for residential building contractors when the cost of the undertaking exceeds $75,000.

MAINE
Requirements differ by municipality.  Contact your local county government to determine requirements

MARYLAND
Requirements differ by municipality.  Contact your local county government to determine requirements

MASSACHUSETTS
Construction of all one and two family dwellings and all buildings containing less than 35,000 cubic feet of enclosed space must be constructed under the supervision of a person licensed as a Construction Supervisor

MICHIGAN
Any person who contracts with a property owner to do residential construction or remodeling on a project whose total value is $600 or more, including material and labor, is required to be licensed as either a Residential Builder or a Maintenance & Alteration Contractor.

MINNESOTA
All building contractors and remodelers who contract with a homeowner to construct or improve dwellings by offering more than one special skill must be licensed. Owners working on their own property must also be licensed if they build or remodel for the sole purpose of speculation or resale.

MISSISSIPPI
All contractors performing work on commercial jobs over $50,000.00 (including the installation of equipment) require a commercial license issued by MSBOC. A commercial license is also required for any contract involving the construction, reconstruction, repair or maintenance of fire protection systems on public projects over $5,000.00 and private projects over $10,000.00.

MISSOURI
Residential contracting is not state regulated.  Contractors bidding on highway projects as a Prime or General contractor must register with the Missouri Secretary of State’s Office.

MONTANA
Construction contractors and subcontractors with employees and projects valued at $2,500 or more must register with the Montana Department of Labor & Industry.

NEBRASKA
None

NEVADA
All businesses or individuals who construct or alter any building, highway, road, parking facility, railroad, excavation, or other structure in Nevada must be licensed by the Nevada State Contractors Board.

NEW HAMPSHIRE
None

NEW JERSEY
Requirements differ by municipality.  Contact your local county government to determine requirements

NEW MEXICO
Anyone engaged in construction-related contracting in New Mexico must be licensed.

NEW YORK
Requirements differ by municipality.  Contact your local county government to determine requirements

NORTH CAROLINA
A “General Contractor” license is required in North Carolina when the project exceeds $30,000.

NORTH DAKOTA
Contractors working on any project where the cost, value, or price per job or contract exceeds $2,000 must hold a North Dakota Contractors License.

OHIO
Requirements differ by municipality.  Contact your local county government to determine requirements

OKLAHOMA
Requirements differ by municipality.  Contact your local county government to determine requirements

OREGON
Any construction work with a value of less than $1,000 does not require a license

PENNSYLVANIA
None

RHODE ISLAND
Anyone who is in the business of commercial construction, home construction, alterations, remodeling, or repair to residents are required to have a current, valid certificate of registration.

SOUTH CAROLINA
A license is required for residential building over $200 and commercial building over $5,000.

TENNESSEE
Contractor’s licenses are required BEFORE bidding or offering a price, for projects $25,000 and up (includes materials and labor), as a prime (general) contractor;

Subcontractors performing electrical, mechanical, plumbing, HVAC, roofing, and masonry are also required to be licensed as a contractor when the total portion of the project is $25,000 or more; masonry, when $100,000 or more. In addition, a sub to a sub would need to be licensed whenever there are more than one subcontractors on the project.

TEXAS
Requirements differ by municipality.  Contact your local county government to determine requirements

UTAH
To do construction work in Utah you need a license from the Division of Occupational and Professional Licensing. Electricians and plumbers must be licensed.

VERMONT
Requirements differ by municipality.  Contact your local county government to determine requirements

VIRGINIA
Any one working as a contractor in Virginia must be licensed.

WASHINGTON
General and Specialty contractors do not require a license.  Electricians and Plumbers must be licensed by the state. Certain trades require registration with the Washington Department of Labor and Industries. Check with your local city/county for requirements and regulations.

WEST VIRGINIA
Anyone who performs work for $2500 or more (total materials and labor) must have a West Virginia Contractors License.

WISCONSIN
All contracting businesses must employ someone who holds a Dwelling Contractor Qualifier Certification to obtain one or two-family dwelling building permits.

WYOMING
All contractors, except electrical, are licensed at the city or county level in the State of Wyoming.

Online Education Guarantee
AIA Continuing Education
Better Business A+ Rating
Online Education ICC Members
Members of TC Chamber of Commerce
Licensed Michigan Proprietary School

 

Verified Authorize.net Continuing Education
Members of North American Home Builders Association
Members of International Code Council
Members of the International Distance Education Code Council
Members of the Environmental Protection Association
Members of the Grand Traverse Home Builders Association

 

Site Map | Privacy and Refund Policy | Clear Cache

Copyright © 2017 Builders License Training Institute, 3135 Logan Valley Rd., Traverse City, MI 49684