Tennessee Contractor FAQs

A Contractors License must be obtained before operating.

There are 8 steps to getting your license in the state of Tennessee.  CLICK HERE to learn more.

Tennessee has created a document that breaks down the type of license, what the license covers, and the exams you will need to take. To view the document, please click here.

The NASCLA Accredited Commercial Contractor Course should take at least 24-30 hours. Once you register, you have up to 6 months before your course is deactivated. If you need longer, just give us a call and we can arrange for an extension.

Yes!

When you pass the NASCLA Accredited Examination for Commercial General Building Contractors, you will be listed in the NASCLA National Examination Database. You will then have this information available for the following states which accept the NASCLA Accredited Examination: AL, AR, GA, LA, MS, NV, NC, OR, SC, TN, UT, US Virgin Islands, VA, and WV. You may also need to take each states’ specific business/law/project management exam in addition to the NASCLA exam.

No

A Tennessee contractor’s license is required BEFORE bidding or offering a price, for projects $25,000 and up (includes materials and labor), as a prime (general) contractor; and many subcontractors. Reciprocal agreements do NOT allow using another state’s license in Tennessee.

The Tennessee Department of Commerce and Insurance regulate contractor licensing.
Department of Commerce and Insurance – Contractors
500 James Robertson Pkwy Nashville, TN 37243-0565

Information is continually added and updated. Please check back

Great courses, easy to follow. Informative, professional and presented in a straightforward manner allowing for a concise completion of your license renewal process. Good refresher, logical sequence a…
Paul R. Corriveau - MA Construction Supervisor Renewal Course
Chat with us