Who needs to be licensed as a builder and a real estate salesperson?
Duel licensure is most often held by individuals who flip houses. Any person who “engages in purchase, substantial rehabilitation or improvement, and resale of a residential structure, engaging in that activity on the same structure more than twice in 1 calendar year” must have a residential builder or M&A contractor license unless the work is for the person’s own use and occupancy, they contract/hire a licensee to perform all the work, or they have a licensed employee who does the work. (MCL 339.2401(b))
Once the remodel work is complete, the builder must either live in the home for 365 days or have a licensed real estate salesperson sell the home. Many builders choose to become a licensed real estate salesperson rather than loose money paying commission.
How do I become a Michigan licensed residential builder?
- Complete an approved 60-Hour Program
- Send a license application, Certificates, and $195 to the state.
- Pass the state exam
How do I become a Michigan licensed real estate salesperson?
- Complete an approved 40 hour Michigan Real Estate Fundamentals Course.
All potential salespeople in Michigan must complete an approved 40 Hour course. Real Estate Training Institute offers this course online in HD video so you can fit it into your busy schedule. The onscreen instructor, Gwyn Besner is available to answer any questions you have while taking the course.
- Submit your real estate license application. Go to www.michigan.gov/icola to apply for a license.
- Register with PSI for your exam. The cost for the Salesperson or the Broker exam is $79 and the tests are timed.
What does it take to maintain Michigan builder and real estate licenses?
Builders License Training Institute makes it easy. We offer a 21-hour and an 18-hour package that meet all of the requirements for license renewal.
- As a licensed builder your continuing education requirements depend on how long you’ve been licensed.
- If you’ve been licensed for less than 6-years you must complete 21-hours of continuing education
- If you’ve been licensed for more than 6-years you must complete a 3-hour code, law, safety class.
- As a licensed real estate salesperson or broker you must complete 18-hours of continuing education including 2-hours of legal updates per year.