RHODE ISLAND CONTRACTOR FAQ
Rhode Island law requires anyone who is in the business of commercial construction, home construction, alterations, remodeling, or repair to residents (total labor and materials $500 or more) to have a current, valid certificate of registration issued by the Contractor’s Registration and Licensing Board. A city, town, or the state shall not issue a building permit to anyone required to be registered who does not have a current, valid certificate of registration. Check with local city/county for their requirements and regulations.
View Rhode Island Contractors’ Registration and Licensing Board Frequently Asked Questions
Asbestos Abatement Contractors, Plumbers, Electricians and some other specialty trades must be licensed through another Rhode Island agency. They do not have to file for a Contractor’s Registration unless they work outside of the purview of their license.
Any person who wishes to register as a contractor shall submit an application which shall include:
- In-Classroom Pre-Education Courses (5 hours) are required for new applicants performing Residential and Commercial Construction.
Call the state at 401-222-1268 to sign up for a Pre-education course
- Completed and notarized application
- Signed and notarized affidavit
- $500,000 certificate of liability insurance indicating R.I.C.R.L.B. as certificate holder
- $200.00 Registration filing fee, 2 years
- If company is a corporation or LLC, then you must have your certificate from the R.I. Secretary of State.
Applicant must be at least 18 years of age. Mail application to:
Rhode Island Contractors Board
560 Jefferson Blvd
Warwick, RI 02886
For Asbestos Abatement, contact: Department of Health at http://www.health.state.ri.us/
For Electrical, Plumbing, Mechanical, etc., contact: The Department of Labor and Training at http://www.dlt.ri.gov/profregs/
Yes, effective July 1, 2015, all new registrations issued by the Contractors Registration and Licensing Board will require 5 hours of education from a board approved provider. Asbestos Abatement Contractors, Electricians and Plumbers and some specialty trades do require education and exams.
Yes, effective April, 2016, all Registrants are required to obtain and provide proof of 5 hours of continuing education from an approved provider for every 2 year renewal cycle. Asbestos Abatement, electrical and plumbing contractors and some specialty trades require continued education.
No, but the registration law applies to all contractors and re-modelers. If a contractor builds commercial structures exclusively or develops land exclusively, they have to be registered.
Out-of-state contractors who wish to build, remodel, or work as a subcontractor in Rhode Island must register.
Contractors, re-modelers, and subcontractors who do not have a valid registration certificate will not be able to bid on work or obtain a building permit or be able to file a lien or file a lawsuit for compensation for work done. A fine up to $5000 for the 1st offense and up to $10,000 for 2nd may be imposed for non-compliance. Three or more offenses in a 24 month period may result in felony charges.
Rhode Island contractor registration cards expire every two years on the first day of the month of issuance. For example, if you received your card on May 15th, 2015, your renewal date is May 1, 2017.
Registration must be renewed through the Rhode Island Contracting board by paying a $200 fee, completing 5 hours of continuing education, and filling out an affidavit and registration application. If paying by credit card the fee, continuing education certificates, affidavit, and application must be brought to the Contractors’ Registration and Licensing Board office. If paying by check or money order these documents can be mailed to:
560 Jefferson Blvd. Suite 200
Warwick, RI 02886
Yes! Provider #40982, Provider#5
You may purchase courses at any point in your renewal cycle and retain access to them until your renewal date. For your convenience courses can be taken 24 hours a day, 7 days a week, on any internet capable device. If you have questions before purchase or while taking your course, the Builders License Training Institute student services staff is available 8:00 a.m. to 5:00 p.m. (EST) Monday – Friday.
You will be able to download and print your certificates immediately after completing the course. These certificates must be mailed along with your renewal application to the State.
If you do not complete your continuing education and re-register with the board you will be required to pay an additional $35 late fee to renew. Until you renew your registration you will be unable to obtain any permits to build.
Information is continually added and updated. Please check back