We Are Open & Here To Help!
Call Us 800-727-7104
Monday-Friday 8am-8pm EST

Frequently Asked Questions

General Information

What is professional development?

Things in the building industry change often. As a professional in your trade it is important to keep your knowledge base up to date so you can make practical decisions for your business. Professional development courses are designed to help you improve your industry knowledge. Whether you are looking for information on new avenues to pursue in your business, wanting to brush up on best practices, or are just interested in learning about a particular topic: professional development is for you!

Is professional development the same thing as continuing education?

Professional development is different from continuing education. Continuing education courses are mandatory courses that your licensing body wants you to take in order to maintain your license.

State Specific Information

Alabama

Home Builders

What continuing education is required to renew my Alabama Home Builder license?

Beginning in the 2022 renewal year, all licensees and/or designated qualifying representatives for a corporation, limited liability company, or partnership under the age of 60 must obtain six (6) credit hours of continuing education before being issued a 2022 license.

Must complete at least two (2) credit hours of approved Alabama specific courses such as Contracts, Business Organizations and Law, Financial Management, Consumer/Customer Relations and Management, State of Alabama Home Builders Licensure Law and Regulations and Risk Management: Avoiding Common Violations.

When do I need to renew my Alabama Home Builder license?

Online renewals and the mail out of traditional paper renewal packages begin October 1 of the current year. Renewals are considered timely when received or postmarked before 11:59 PM on November 30. All renewals received from December 1 through 11:59 PM December 31 are considered late and will be charged a $50 late fee. Any renewal application received on or after January 1 will be considered expired.

Who do I contact with further questions?

Licensing Board for Home Builders
445 Herron Street
Montgomery, AL 36104
(334) 242-2230
https://hblb.alabama.gov/

General Contractors

What continuing education is required to renew my Alabama General Contractor license?

Continuing education is not currently required for Alabama General Contractors.

When do I need to renew my Alabama General Contractor license?

Alabama General Contractors must renew their licenses yearly by the last day of the month in which they were originally licensed. Note that prime contractors and subcontractors are due thirty days prior to expiration.

Who do I contact with further questions?

Licensing Board for General Contractors
2525 Fairlane Drive (Executive Park)
Montgomery, Alabama 36116
(334) 272-5030 Ext 226
http://genconbd.alabama.gov/default.aspx

Arizona

Do Arizona contractors have to complete continuing education?

No, however, a license is issued for two years and must be renewed biennially. You will be sent a renewal notice in the mail.

How do I renew my Arizona contractor license?

  1. Visit the online renewal system
  2. Pay the appropriate renewal fee:
    • General Commercial (A, B-1, B-2) | $580
    • Specialty Commercial (C) | $480
    • General Residential (B, B-3, B-4, B-5, B-6, B-10) | $320
    • Specialty Residential (R) | $270
    • General Dual (KA, KB-1, KB-2, KE, KO) | $480
    • Specialty Dual (CR) | $380

Who do I contact with further questions?

AZ ROC
1700 W. Washington St. Suite 105
Phoenix, Arizona 85007-2812
(602) 542-1525
https://roc.az.gov/

Arkansas

General Renewal Questions

Is continuing education required for Arkansas contractors?

No

How often do I renew my Arkansas contractor license?

Licenses renew annually. If your license has expired, it may be renewed up to 2 years after its expiration date.

Residential Builders

What are the fees for renewing my Arkansas contractor license?

  • Residential Builder: Renewal Fee $50.00/Late Fee $100.00
  • Home Improvement Remodeler, Unlimited & Limited : Renewal Fee $25.00/Late Fee $50.00

What is the process for renewing my Arkansas contractor license?

  1. Go online to complete the renewal application and pay the fee
  2. Complete a balance sheet
  3. Submit a current certificate of coverage verifying Workers Compensation (if there are employees)

Commercial Contractors

What are the fees for renewing my Arkansas contractor license?

Renewal Fee $50.00
Late Fee $100.00

What is the process for renewing my Arkansas contractor license?

  1. Go online to complete the renewal application and pay the fee
  2. Submit a current financial statement
  3. Submit a current certificate of coverage verifying Workers Compensation (if there are employees)

State Contact Info

Arkansas Contractors Licensing Board
4100 Richards Road
North Little Rock, AR 72117
(501) 372-4661
contractors.licensing.board@arkansas.gov
https://www.aclb.arkansas.gov/

California

Is continuing education required for a California contractor license?

No

How often do I have to renew my California contractor license?

Active Licenses: Every two years
Inactive Licenses: Every four years

How do I renew my California contractor license?

  1. Approximately 60 days before your license is due to expire, CSLB will send you a renewal application.
    • If you have not received a renewal application from the CSLB within 45 days of the expiration date, you can order a renewal online or by calling the CSLB at 1-800-321-CSLB (2752).
  2. An acceptable renewal application must be received at CSLB’s Headquarters Office prior to the expiration date of the license to avoid any unlicensed time. It is your responsibility to make sure your license is renewed, even if you don’t receive a renewal form.
  3. Because processing times can vary significantly, timely submission of your renewal is strongly recommended.

What are the renewal fees for California contractors?

  • Timely Active Renewal Fee – $450
  • Timely Inactive Renewal Fee – $225
  • Delinquent Active Renewal Fee – $675
  • Delinquent Inactive Renewal Fee – $337.50

Who do I contact with further questions?

Contractors State License Board (CSLB)

Location
Contractors State License Board
9821 Business Park Drive
Sacramento, CA 95827

Mailing
P.O. Box 26000
Sacramento, CA 95826

Location
Contractors State License Board
9821 Business Park Drive
Sacramento, CA 95827

Mailing
P.O. Box 26000
Sacramento, CA 95826

Phone
(800) 321-2752
Tips for Calling CSLB’s Licensing Information Center

Colorado

Do contractors in Colorado require continuing education?

There is no state-wide requirement for continuing education, all requirements are determined by your local municipality.

Who do I contact with further questions?

Please contact your local municipality for licensing and renewal requirements.

Connecticut

Does Connecticut require continuing education?

At this time there is no continuing education requirement for contractors in Connecticut.

Who do I contact with further questions?

Department of Consumer Protection
450 Columbus Blvd, Suite 901
Hartford, CT 06103
(860) 713-6100
dcp.licenseservices@ct.gov

Delaware

Does Delaware require continuing education?

At this time there is no continuing education requirement for contractors in Delaware.

Who do I contact with further questions?

Division of Revenue
(302) 577-8778

Hawaii

Does Hawaii require continuing education?

At this time there is no continuing education requirement for contractors in Hawaii.

Who do I contact with further questions?

Contractor License Board
PO Box 3469
Honolulu, HI 96801
(808) 586-2700
contractor@dcca.hawaii.gov

Idaho

Does Idaho require continuing education?

At this time there is no continuing education requirement for general contractors in Idaho.

Who do I contact with further questions?

Division of Occupational and Professional Licenses
700 West State Street
Boise, ID 83702
(208) 334-3233
ibol@ibol.idaho.gov

Illinois

Does Illinois require continuing education?

At this time there is no state-wide continuing education requirement for general contractors in Illinois.

Who do I contact with further questions?

Illinois Department of Financial & Professional Regulation
100 West Randolph, 9th Floor
Chicago, IL 60601
(888) 473-4858

Indiana

Does Indiana require continuing education?

At this time there is no state-wide continuing education requirement for general contractors in Indiana.

Who do I contact with further questions?

Department of Business and Neighborhood Services
Contractor Licensing
1200 Madison Ave, Ste 100
Indianapolis, IN 46225
(317) 327-1291
Contractors@indy.gov

Iowa

Does Iowa require continuing education?

At this time there is no state-wide continuing education requirement for general contractors in Iowa.

Who do I contact with further questions?

Contractor Registration
150 Des Moines Street
Des Moines, IA 50309
(515) 242-5871
contractor.registration@iwd.iowa.gov

Kansas

Does Kansas require continuing education?

At this time there is no state-wide continuing education requirement for general contractors in Kansas.

Who do I contact with further questions?

Contractor licenses are regulated at the municipal level, and requirements vary. Please contact your local municipality for more information.

Maine

Does Maine require continuing education?

At this time there is no state-wide continuing education requirement for general contractors in Maine.

Who do I contact with further questions?

Contractor licenses are regulated at the municipal level, and requirements vary. Please contact your local municipality for more information.

Missouri

Does Missouri require continuing education?

At this time there is no state-wide continuing education requirement for general contractors in Missouri.

Who do I contact with further questions?

Contractor licenses are regulated at the municipal level, and requirements vary. Please contact your local municipality for more information.

Montana

Does Montana require continuing education?

At this time there is no state-wide continuing education requirement for general contractors in Montana.

Who do I contact with further questions?

Department of Labor & Industry
PO Box 8011
Helena, MT 59604
(406) 444-6543

Nebraska

Does Nebraska require continuing education?

At this time there is no state-wide continuing education requirement for general contractors in Nebraska.

Who do I contact with further questions?

Department of Labor
550 S. 16th Street
Lincoln, NE 68508
(402) 471-2239
NDOL.ContractorRegistration@nebraska.gov

Nevada

What continuing education is required to renew my Nevada Contractor license?

No continuing education is required at this time.

How often do I need to renew my contractors license?

Licenses expire every two years on the last day of the month in which the license was originally issued.

Who do I contact with further questions?

Nevada State Contractors Board – Las Vegas
2310 Corporate Circle, Ste 200
Henderson, NV 89074
(702) 486-1100
http://www.nvcontractorsboard.com/

Nevada State Contractors Board – Reno
5390 Kietzke Lane, Ste 102
Reno, NV 89511
(775) 688-1141
http://www.nvcontractorsboard.com/

New Hampshire

Does New Hampshire require continuing education?

At this time there is no state-wide continuing education requirement for general contractors in New Hampshire.

Who do I contact with further questions?

Contractor licenses are regulated at the municipal level, and requirements vary. Please contact your local municipality for more information.

New Jersey

Does New Jersey require continuing education?

At this time there is no state-wide continuing education requirement for general contractors in New Jersey.

Who do I contact with further questions?

Division of Consumer Affairs
124 Halsey Street
Newark, New Jersey 07102
RenewalApplications@dca.state.nj.us

New Mexico

When does my New Mexico contractor license expire?

Renewal is every 3 years on the 15th of the month in which it was issued.

Is contractor continued education required in New Mexico?

No, continuing education is not required at this time.

Who do I contact with further questions?

Construction Industries Division – Regulation and Licensing Department
25550 Cerillos Road
Santa Fe, NM 87505
(505) 476-4500
rldcid@state.nm.us
www.rld.state.nm.us

North Carolina

Do I need to renew my North Carolina contractor license?

Licenses must be renewed annually by December 31 for the following year, or the license expires. If a license is not renewed within sixty (60) days following expiration, then it becomes “invalid,” and the contractor becomes, in effect, unlicensed. Reexamination is required if a license is not renewed for four (4) years following expiration. After a lapse of four years, no renewal shall be effected and all requirements for a new license must be fulfilled, in accordance with G.S. 87-10.

Is North Carolina contractor continuing education required?

As of December 2019, continuing education is now a mandatory requirement for license renewal. At least one qualifier must complete 8 hours of continuation between January 1 and November 30 annually in order to renew their licenses.

Do your professional development courses fulfill North Carolina continuing education requirements?

No but we offer North Carolina State approved Continuing education courses.

Who do I contact with further questions?

North Carolina Licensing Board for General Contractors
5400 Creedmoor Road
Raleigh, NC 27612
(919) 571-4183
info@nclbgc.org
licensing@nclbgc.org
https://ncclic.org/

North Dakota

Does North Dakota require continuing education?

At this time there is no state-wide continuing education requirement for general contractors in North Dakota.

Who do I contact with further questions?

Contractors must register with the North Dakota Secretary of state, but there may be additional regulations at the municipal level, and requirements vary. Please check with your local municipality for more information on local requirements.

Secretary of State
600 E Boulevard Avenue Dept 108
Bismark, ND 58505
(701) 328-2900

Ohio

Does Ohio require continuing education?

At this time there is no state-wide continuing education requirement for general contractors in Ohio.

Who do I contact with further questions?

Contractor licenses are regulated at the municipal level, and requirements vary. Please contact your local municipality for more information.

Oklahoma

Does Oklahoma require continuing education?

At this time there is no state-wide continuing education requirement for general contractors in Oklahoma.

Who do I contact with further questions?

Construction Industries Board
2401 NW 23rd St, Suite 2f
Oklahoma City, OK 73107
(405) 521-6550

Pennsylvania

Does Pennsylvania require continuing education?

At this time there is no state-wide continuing education requirement for general contractors in Pennsylvania, however there may be additional requirements at the municipal level.

Who do I contact with further questions?

Home Improvement Contractors may contact:

Office of Attorney General
Strawberry Square
Harrisburg, PA 17120
(717) 772-2425
hic@attorneygeneral.gov

You should additionally check with your local municipality.

South Carolina

Residential Builders

Is contractor continuing education required in South Carolina?

There are no continuing education credits needed at this time.

When do I need to renew my South Carolina Residential Builders License?

Residential Builders Licenses is renewable every 2 years, before June 30 of each even year (2020, 2022, 2024, etc).

Is there a late fee?

There will be a late fee for all renewals received after June 30. Your license will lapse on June 30 if you do not renew it. Your license may remain inactive for up to three years before being required to reapply and retest per S.C. Code Ann. § 40-59-230(A).

How do I renew my Residential Builders License?

Go online to the SC E-service Site. You will need a credit card, your user ID and password, and your current email address on file with the Commission.

Who do I contact with further questions?

South Carolina Department of Labor, Licensing and Regulation
Synergy Business Park; Kingstree Building
110 Centerview Dr.
Columbia, SC 29210
(803) 896-4986
Contact.RLB@llr.sc.gov
https://llr.sc.gov/res/

General (Commercial) Contractors

Is contractor continuing education required in South Carolina?

There are no continuing education credits needed at this time.

How do I renew my General Contractors License?

For the 2020-2022 renewal period:

You must submit the appropriate Financial Statement, Surety Bond or Surety Bond Continuation Certificate prior to accessing the online renewal software. Failure to submit the required financial documentation or bond, in addition to the renewal application, will result in your license not being renewed.

You can submit this information via the Document Submission portal using your User ID and Password.

If you are adding a new Surety Bond for this renewal cycle, you must mail the original to the Board.

What fees are associated with renewing a South Carolina General Contractor’s License?

General Contractor’s Licenses renewed on or before October 31, 2020: Fee is $135.

2020-2022 GC Renewal / Late Fees:
Postmarked 11/01/20 – 11/30/20: Late Fee $100 + Renewal Fee $135 = $235
Postmarked 12/01/20 – 12/31/20: Late Fee $150 + Renewal Fee $135 = $285
Postmarked 01/01/21 – 01/31/21: Late Fee $200 + Renewal Fee $135 = $335

Who do I contact with further questions?

South Carolina Department of Labor, Licensing and Regulation
Synergy Business Park; Kingstree Building
110 Centerview Dr.
Columbia, SC 29210
(803) 896-4986
Contact.CLB@llr.sc.gov
https://www.llr.sc.gov/clb/

South Dakota

Does South Dakota require continuing education?

At this time there is no state-wide continuing education requirement for general contractors in South Dakota.

Who do I contact with further questions?

Contractor licenses are regulated at the municipal level, and requirements vary. Please contact your local municipality for more information.

Utah

When do Utah contractor licenses expire?

Licenses expire on November 30 of odd years (2021, 2023, etc).

Is Utah contractor continuing education required?

Yes, contractors must complete 6 hours of DOPL approved continuing education each license cycle. As of 2017, a minimum of 3 hours must be taken in a live seminar.

What are the requirements for renewing my license?

  • Complete 6 hours of required continuing education
  • Hold an active General Liability Insurance Certificate
  • Hold an active Workers Compensation Certificate (if you have employees)

What is the fee for renewing my Utah contractor license?

$114.00

Who do I contact with further questions?

Utah Department of Commerce
Division of Occupational and Professional Licensing
(801) 530-6628 or (866) 275-3675
https://dopl.utah.gov/contractor/index.html

Vermont

Does Vermont require continuing education?

At this time there is no state-wide continuing education requirement for general contractors in Vermont.

Who do I contact with further questions?

Contractor licenses are regulated at the municipal level, and requirements vary. Please contact your local municipality for more information.

Washington

Does Washington require continuing education?

At this time there is no state-wide continuing education requirement for general contractors in Washington.

Who do I contact with further questions?

Department of Labor & Industries
7273 Linderson Way SW
Tumwater, WA 98501
(800) 647-0982
contreg@lni.wa.gov

Washington D.C.

Does Washington DC require continuing education?

At this time there is no continuing education requirement for general contractors in Washington DC.

Who do I contact with further questions?

District of Consumer and Regulatory Affairs
1100 4th Street, SW
Washington, DC 20024
(202) 442-4400
dcra@dc.gov

Wyoming

Does Wyoming require continuing education?

At this time there is no state-wide continuing education requirement for general contractors in Wyoming.

Who do I contact with further questions?

Contractor licenses are regulated at the municipal level, and requirements vary. Please contact your local municipality for more information.

About the Courses

Once I order the course, how long before I can start?

You may begin immediately! Simply click the Login button in the upper right-hand corner on your desktop or in the upper-right menu on mobile. Once you’ve entered your login and password, you will be taken to your courses. Follow the instructions and enjoy!

Once I start an online course, will I be able to start and stop at anytime?

Our courses are available online 24/7 and you are able to log in and log out at any time during the course. If you are going to be away from your computer for more than 10-15 minutes, simply log out. When you log back in, you will be able to re-enter the lesson you were last in.

How long do your continuing education courses take to complete?

Continuing education requirements vary by state. Each course lists a minimum number of credit hours required to complete the course.

How long do your exam prep courses take to complete?

Each course lists the total amount of hours for the course. However, we cover materials quickly and many contractors like to re-watch materials. In other words, this question really depends on your learning style. We recommend that you go through the course as many times as you need to be comfortable with the material and any applicable reference books. The more familiar you are with the materials, the better you will do on your exam!

How long do I have the courses?

We allow up to 6 months for you to complete the courses. During the six months you have unlimited, 24/7 access. If you need additional time, please contact our offices to arrange an extension (please note: a fee may apply).

Are there tests in the courses?

This varies depending on whether the course is continuing education or exam prep.

There are no quizzes for continuing education courses in Michigan. All other states with continuing education require quizzes to check completion progress.

In exam prep courses there will be a short quiz at the end of each lesson and there is also a longer practice test at the end of each course. These quizzes and tests will help you practice taking an exam and identify areas you may wish to study more.

If I fail a practice test, do I have to take it again?

Practice tests are just that: for practice. You will have the opportunity to retake the practice tests until you do pass. The practice tests are there to help you get used to the process of using your reference materials and finding the correct answers during an exam. If you don’t pass on the first try, take the time to note what sections of the material you need to review.

Once I complete a course, can I still go back and review the lessons and quizzes?

You are able to review the lessons and quizzes at any time during the six months you’ll have access to the courses.