Utah State Licensing Requirements

Click here for our Utah HD Video Courses

[php function=2]

How do I get my contractor license in Utah?

Contact the Division of Occupational and Professional Licensing at:

Division of Occupational and Professional Licensing
160 East 300 South
1st Floor, Main Lobby
Salt Lake City, Utah 84111

(801) 530-6628
Or visit their website at:

http://www.dopl.utah.gov/licensing/contracting.html

What do I have to do to get my Utah contractors license?

You must take the Utah Business and Law Examination. The Utah Business and Law Examination requirement will only be waived if the qualifying individual has passed the test previously.

Experience Requirements

Rules for licensure require an applicant to meet certain experience requirements.

In the past 10 years, a minimum of two years of full-time related experience, one year of which shall be in a supervisory or managerial position for applicants of the following contractor classifications:
E100-General Engineering
B100-General Building
R100-Residential and Small Commercial

In the past 10 years, a minimum of two years of full-time related experience for applicants of the following contractor  classifications:
S220-Carpentry
S290-General Masonry
S320-Steel Erection
S350-Heating Ventilating and Air Conditioning
S360-Refrigeration
S370-Fire Suppression

In the past 10 years, a minimum of two years of full-time related experience for applicants of all other contractor classifications not  listed above, excluding electrical and plumbing.

Liability Insurance Coverage

All contractors must carry continuous liability insurance. You must report your insurance provider, policy number, expiration date and aggregate coverage in excess of $300,000 on your renewal form.

Workers Compensation

Contractors must carry workers’ compensation insurance for all employees and certain owner-workers. You must report the name of your provider, the policy number and the expiration on your renewal form.

Owner-Worker Classification

Utah law now requires that certain contractors provide additional information when applying for a license. Entities other than corporations or publicly traded companies that have owners who (1) own less than eight percent of the licensed entity; and who (2) actively engage in the construction activities on behalf of the licensed contractor entity; must provide additional reporting to DOPL and must assure that such owner-workers are covered by workers’ compensation insurance and unemployment insurance.

For further licensing requirement information, please refer to the Utah website, or R156-55a-302b. Qualifications for Licensure – Experience Requirements.

How long does it take to complete the course?

  • The Utah Contractor License Exam courses take approximately 8 hours each, but we move rapidly through the materials.  For a thorough review, you may want to allow twice that amount of time..

Once you register, you have up to 6 months before your course is deactivated.  If you need longer, just give us a call and we can arrange an extension.

Is contractor continued education required in Utah?

Yes 

Contractors: Six hours each licensing cycle, three of which must be “Core” courses and the other three may be either “Professional” or “Core”. Licensing Cycle ends November 30 of odd years (2011, 2013, 2015…)

Plumbers: Twelve hours of Continuing Education each licensing period. Eight hours must be “Core” education and the remaining four can be “Professional” or “Core” related. Licensing Cycle ends November 30th of even years (2012, 2014, 2016)

Electricians: Sixteen hours of Continuing Education each licensing period. Twelve hours must be “Core” education and the remaining four can be “Professional” or “Core” related Licensing Cycle ends November 30th of even years (2012, 2014, 2016…)

Renewal will be not be permitted until Continuing Education is completed and uploaded to the Utah State registry.  To check your completed Continuing Education hours, go to http://www.utah.gov/ce-public.

You must select CE courses that are approved by the Division of Occupational and Professional Licensing (DOPL). All of the Builders License Training Institute courses have been approved. Student completion results are now reported daily to the State of Utah. It takes 24-48 hours for the results to show up on the DOPL web site.

Is the NASCLA Accredited Commercial Contractor license accepted in Utah? 

No

Does Utah require a General contractor (commercial contractor) license?

On your licensing application, you may choose either:  R100-  Residential Small Commercial  or  a  B100 –  General Contractor License

Information is continually added and updated.  Please check back.