North Carolina State Licensing Requirements

[php function=2]

Do I need a license prior to bidding on a project?

If the project costs $30,000 or more, you will need a license before submitting a bid.

How do I get my contractor license in North Carolina?

For general contractor licensing applications, instructions, and information contact:

Licensing Board for General Contractors
5400 Creedmoor Rd. PO Box 17187
Raleigh NC 27619

Web site: http://www.nclbgc.org
Phone: (919) 571-4183
Fax: (919) 571-4703

What do I have to do to get my North Carolina contractors license?

Submit the General Contractors License application and supporting documents to the North Carolina Board for General Contractors. Applications must be received 30 days prior to any regularly scheduled meeting of the Board.

Do I need to pass a separate Business and Law Examination?

No, but you must submit a copy of your transcripts from PSI to the State.  You may request this information from PSI. PSI (Psychological Services Incorporated) is the company that facilitated the exam.   They may be contacted at the following web address and phone number: www.psiexams.com or 1-800-733-9267

 

How long does it take to complete the course?

  • The North Carolina Contractor License Exam courses take approximately 8 to 12 hours each, but we move rapidly through the materials.  For a thorough review, you may want to allow twice that amount of time.
  • The NASCLA Accredited Commercial Contractor Course should take at least 24-30 hours.

Once you register, you have up to 6 months before your course is deactivated.  If you need longer, just give us a call and we can arrange an extension.

 

Is contractor continued education required in North Carolina?

No

Is the NASCLA Accredited Commercial Contractor license accepted in North Carolina? 

Yes!

When you pass the NASCLA Accredited Examination for Commercial General Building Contractors, you will be listed in the NASCLA National Examination Database. You will then have this information available for the following states which accept this NASCLA Accredited Examination: Alabama, Arkansas, Georgia, Louisianna, Mississippi, North Carolina, South Carolina and Tennessee.

 

Does North Carolina require a General contractor (commercial contractor) license?

An intermediate license permits you to act as the general contractor for any project valued up to $700,000. You must also have $75,000 of working capital to apply for this license.

Information is continually added and updated.  Please check back.