National Programs

Free Shipping

Subscribe to our mailing list

* indicates required

Press Releases

 

Re:  New ADA Standards Courses for Continued Education

To:  Massachusetts Construction Supervisors and Architects

Date:  April 23, 2014

Now Available!

ADA Standards Courses

(Americans with Disabilities Act)

 

The Builders License Training Institute is pleased to announce the addition of three new continued education courses.

We now have a full line of ADA Standards courses to choose from. Construction Supervisors and Architects can choose from a variety of continuing education courses as well as additional ADA (Americans with Disabilities Act) courses. We hope you will be pleased with the depth of choices that the ADA Standards curriculum contributes to our current CE course options.

Course selections include:

  • 4-Hour 2010 ADA Standards: Building Blocks and Special Elements
  • 6-Hour 2010 ADA Standards: Real World Applications
  • 6– Hour Financial Responsibilities: Effective Business Strategies
  • 10 and 12-Hour Construction Supervisor continued education packages
  • Architects continued education courses
  • And more!

Click Here to Start Now

Available 24/7 Online

Save 10% use promo code MACSL10 at check out!

(Coupon code must be entered during registration. We are sorry, but a coupon code can not be entered once your registration has been processed)

 

###

____________________________________

 

Re:  Residential Builder and M&A Contractor Licensing

To:  Armed Forces Applicant

Date:  April 16, 2014

Michigan Veterans May Be Eligible to get Their Builders License Without Taking the 60-Hour Prelicensure Course

Beginning February 12, 2014, individuals who served in the armed forces may be exempt from the 60-hour prelicensure requirement for initial licensure as a residential builder or residential maintenance & alteration contractor for the State of Michigan.

The criteria that must be met in order for veterans to benefit from this rule change is quite strict, including passing the State exam on the first try. Applicants who do not pass the State exam may not take it again un­til successfully completing an approved 60 hour prelicensure course.  To see a complete list of require­ments, visit:  Armed Forces Applicants – Residential Builders and M&A Contractors

The Builders License Training Institute provides a complete pre-exam study package for the Residential Builders or M&A Contractor license exams. This package contains videos, a construction math tutorial and practice quizzes in business law as well as the trades to make sure all the bases are covered. Veterans will receive an automatic 25% discount.  Go to licensetobuild.com or call 1-800-727-7104.

###

____________________________________

To:  Michigan Residential Builders and M&A Contractors
December 6, 2013

Continuing Competency for Michigan Builders Just Got Easier

The Builders License Training Institute now has a Michigan Builders 3-Hour Video Code/Law/Safety course and a 21-Hour Continuing Competency Video Package available online that does not require the passing of any tests.  Each video simply has a code embedded within the video that students are required to enter into a prompt in order to move on to the next video.  It’s that easy!

All courses are also available in a text format, as well as offering the Michigan Builders Renewal 3-Hour course in 30 cities.  “We want to make sure we offer all venues to our building community because we know people have different learning styles.” says Teri Francis, CEO of Builders License Training Institute.

The Builders License Training Institute offers courses that fulfill all state requirements. Topics for these courses include Project Management, Construction Safety, Energy Efficient Building, Marketing for Contractors, Building Exterior Shell Training (BEST), and Residential Building Code. To register for a course today, go to licensetobuild.com or call 1-800-727-7104.

###

____________________________________

 

To:  Oregon Builders and Contractors
October 12, 2013

Oregon Builders Education Requirements Have Changed

Effective October 1 through December 31, 2013, Oregon residential contractors are no longer required to include the Building Exterior Shell Training (BEST) in the 16 hours of residential continuing education. The BEST course is now considered an Elective. This law is under review and may change again after January 1, 2014.

Who needs continuing education?

Commercial – All CCB commercially endorsed contractors that renew a commercial CCB license. Training can be taken by any “key” employee of the business. Commercial Contractor CE is now part of the requirements for continued licensing with the CCB.

Residential contractors are currently required to complete 16 hours of continuing education prior to license renewals beginning on or after October 1, 2011.  This number may change after January 1, 2014.  The new 2014 rules will be posted here when they are made public.

• 8-hours must be in mandatory subject areas (Core); and

• 8-hours are discretionary

The Builders License Training Institute currently offers courses that fulfill all state requirements. Topics for these courses include Project Management, Construction Safety, Energy Efficient Building, Marketing for Contractors, Building Exterior Shell Training (BEST), and Residential Building Code. To register for a course today, go to licensetobuild.com or call 1-800-727-7104.

###

____________________________________

 

 

To: Minnesota Building Construction Community
February 20, 2013

March 31st Deadline Fast Approaching For All Minnesota Residential Builders, Remodelers and Roofing Contractors.

All Minnesota residential building contractors, remodelers and roofers must complete 14 hours of continued education during every two year licensing cycle, with at least one hour of energy code included in the education. The renewal cycle for all licensees has been split in half, meaning that half will renew March 31, 2013 and the other half March 31, 2014.

Residential Builders, Remodeling and Roofing Contractors Can Now Complete Licensing CE Online

Builders, Remodelers and Roofers can now complete their licensing continued education in the comfort of their own home. The Builders License Training Institute has two informative and easy to use online courses approved by the Minnesota Department of Labor and Industry. With gas prices so high and time being so valuable, the industry now has a more convenient option.

The Builders License Training Institute, a member of the Mid Minnesota Builders Association, offers two seven-hour online courses for $99 each:

1. Project Management, Including Two Hours of Energy Code

2. Construction Safety, Including Fall Protection

Both courses have also been approved for Manufactured Home Installers starting with the 2015 licensing renewal.

The Builders License Training Institute specializes in Exam Preparation, Continuing Education and Certification courses for the building community.

For more information or details on how to get your continuing education online, call the Builders License Training Institute at 1-800-727-7104 or visit licensetobuild.com Our Goal Is Your Success!

###

____________________________________

 

NEWS RELEASE
To: Michigan Building Community
November 19, 2012

FREE EXAM PREP CLINIC

Who qualifies?

The Builders License Training Institute is now offering a FREE Exam Prep Clinic twice a month to anyone who has completed their 60-hour prelicense education in 2012, regardless of where you took your 60 hour program.

If you’ve completed your 60-Hours in 2012 with any school, you are welcome!

Why are we offering this free clinic?

We’ve received numerous calls from students who have taken courses from other schools and are not able to pass the State exam. We are being told that other schools have either stopped answering their phones altogether or are not offering satisfaction. We want to help!

Why should you attend?

If you are having trouble passing the State exam, this is your opportunity to get help at no cost to you. All it takes is time. You may be an artist in the field, but not a test-taker. This face-to-face instruction will allow you to really focus on the areas that are giving you trouble.

“After just a few minutes with Dave on the phone, I knew I would have been licensed a lot sooner if I had gone through Builders License Training Institute. Even though I wasn’t one of their students, Dave got me through that test and his words of encouragement gave me the confidence to keep going”     Ralph Brown from Pontiac, Michigan

When are the clinics?

The first and third Friday of each month beginning December 7th. Preregistration is required by calling Builders License Training Institute at 1-800-727-7104. Please bring your state exam scores with you to the clinic.

Where are they held?

Classes will be held at Builders License Training Institute headquarters in Traverse City, MI. Upon pre-registration students will receive exact address. Call us at 1-800-727-7104 to register.

PRE- REGISTRATION IS REQUIRED – SIX STUDENTS MAXIMUM

NOTE: As of January 1, 2014, “FREE Exam Prep Clinics” are no longer offered. However, please contact us at 1-800-727-7104 for information of courses available for exam prep, prelicense courses, and continuing education.

###

 

____________________________________

 

 

 

 

October 26 2012

Grow Your Client Base Year Round

The Builders License Training Institute has released an Online Video Marketing Series that informs builders and contractors on how to grow their client base throughout the year. In an effort to assist the industry in getting back on its feet, this video series now comes free with all course purchases.

Designed specifically for the building community, this new HD video series is designed to be entertaining as well as educational. Learn successful marketing strategies and techniques that work for the residential building and remodeling industry.

The Builders License Training Institute is the leader in Builders Education. Serving the education needs of the building community in 15 states. Our Goal Is Your Success!
Visit our newly “Remodeled” website licensetobuild.com or call 1-800-727-7104.

###

 

____________________________________

 

 

 

NEWS RELEASE
Minnesota Building Community
October 24,2012

Builders, Remodelers and Roofers Can Now Complete Licensing CE Online

The Builders License Training Institute has two informative online courses available that have been approved by the Minnesota Department of Labor and Industry. With gas prices so high and time being so valuable, the industry now has a more convenient option.

How much continued education is required?

All residential building contractors, remodelers and roofers must complete 14 hours of continued education during every two year licensing cycle, with at least one hour of energy code included in the education. The renewal cycle for all licensees has been split in half, meaning that half will renew

March 31, 2013 and the other half March 31, 2014.

The Builders License Training Institute, a member of the Mid Minnesota Builders Association, offers two seven-hour online courses for $99 each:

1.  Project Management, Including Two Hours of Energy Code

2.  Construction Safety, Including Fall Protection

Both courses have also been approved for Manufactured Home Installers starting with the 2015 licensing renewal.

The Builders License Training Institute specializes in Exam Preparation and Continuing Education courses for the building community.

For more information or details on how to get your continuing education online, call the Builders License Training Institute at 1-800-727-7104 or visit licensetobuild.com Our Goal Is Your Success!

###

 

____________________________________

 

 

 

NEWS RELEASE

To: Michigan Building Community

Michigan Builders No Longer Need To Prove Good Credit to Become Licensed

The Builders License Training Institute was notified by the Michigan Department of Licensing and
Regulatory Affairs (LARA) that as of May 18, 2012, Michigan Residential Builder and Maintenance
and Alteration (M&A) Contractor applicants are no longer required to prove financial stability to
obtain a license.

Prior to this change, the Michigan Residential Builders Laws and Rules states that applicants are
required to, “submit evidence of good moral character, and financial stability.” Once the State of
Michigan received a license application, they would pull a credit report on the applicant and the
information on the report would be used as a determinant for approval. This step is no longer required.

So what is required to get a Michigan Builders or M&A Contractors License?

There are three major steps in getting licensed as a Michigan Residential Builder or M&A Contractor.

The first step is to complete 60 hours of State approved prelicensure education and receive Certificates
 of Completion from the courses.

The second step is to mail the license application, certificates and licensing fee of $195 to the Department
of Licensing and Regulatory Affairs and wait about three weeks for approval.

The third and final step in the licensing process is to pass a State exam taken through PSI Examination Services.
Applicants are not allowed to register for the exam until their application has been approved through the State
of Michigan. The cost of the exam is $100 and consists of two parts: 50 questions on Business/Law and 100
questions on Building Trades/Practices.

The Builders License Training Institute, a Michigan licensed proprietary school and the leader in Michigan
Builders Education, offers two ways to complete the State Approved 60-Hour Prelicensure Program:
1) Online with an HD Video Course where the student determines their own schedule, and 2) in a classroom
with the six-day super fastrack course in over ten locations throughout the State. Once builders and contractors
are licensed, the Builders License Training Institute has a variety of continuing competency courses for builders
to fulfill renewal requirements.

For more details or to see our course selections, call 1-800-727-7104 or go online to licensetobuild.com

###

NEWS RELEASE

To: Michigan Building Community
June 25, 2012

Michigan Online Code Officials Course Now In HD Video!

Continued Competency Courses Approved for Michigan Code Officials
The deadline is September 16, 2012

The Michigan Department of Licensing and Regulatory Affairs has approved four 6-hour and two 8-hour
video online courses for Code Officials, Inspectors and Plan Reviewers by the Builders License Training Institute.

All six courses can be taken from any computer or mobile device and are available 24/7. They are easy to
use, convenient and you can come and go as you please. Why wait? Get started immediately and receive
your certificate of completion as soon as you’re done.

Course Selection

  • Business of Building 8 hour course $79 (approval #16366)
  • Residential Code Review 6 hour course $59 (approval #16364)
  • Overview Of Building Trades 8 hour course $79 (approval #16360)
  • Michigan Construction Safety 6 hour course $59 (approval #16367)
  • Building Green for Contractors 6 hour course $59 (approval #16365)
  • Contracts and Risk Management 6 hour course $59 (approval # 16368)

Also available Online and in Classroom

  • Lead Paint Safety (RRP)
  • 60-Hour Builders Prelicensure
  • Continuing Competency for Builders

Bookstore

Visit our website at licensetobuild.com

REVIEWS:

Ronald from Okemos says, “I would recommend this to everyone. This was a great experience.” 3/29/12

Craig from Grand Rapids says, “The videos are great! I’m able to watch them on my iphone at any time.
Not to mention a huge savings in time and money!”2/3/12

###

NEWS RELEASE

To: Nationwide Building Community
May 22, 2012

Dear Building and Construction Professional,

As educators, we feel it is our duty to inform you of important updates regarding issues that effect the
building community. An important article has been brought to our attention and we believe it is worthy
of your time and consideration.

Sincerely,

Teri A. Francis
Owner- Builders License Training Institute

 

U.S. Lowers cutoff for lead poisoning in young children

Detroit Free Press Article dated May 16, 2012

May 16, 2012

ATLANTA – For the first time in 20 years, U.S. health officials have lowered the threshold for lead poisoning in young children.

The new standard announced Wednesday means that hundreds of thousands more youngsters could be
diagnosed with high levels of lead. Too much lead is harmful to developing brains and can mean a lower IQ.

“Unfortunately, many, many more parents will be getting bad news,” said Rebecca Morley, executive director
of the National Center for Healthy Housing, a Maryland-based nonprofit focused on hazards to kids in homes.

The standard is for children younger than 6. Recent research persuaded experts and government officials that
young children could be harmed from lead levels in their blood that are lower than the old standard.

Really, “there is no safe level of blood lead in children,” said Christopher Portier, of the Centers for Disease Control
and Prevention. He heads the agency’s environmental health programs.

The CDC announced the change Wednesday, adopting recommendations made in January by an advisory panel
of experts. At the same time, CDC officials acknowledged they don’t have additional funds to help doctors or local
health departments do more testing of children or find and clean up lead contamination.

Lead poisoning is detected through a blood test. The change means poisoning will be defined as 5 micrograms
of lead per deciliter of blood. The old standard was 10 micrograms.

Under the old standard, lead poisoning in children had been declining in the U.S. Experts estimated that
somewhere between 77,000 and 255,000 children had high levels of lead, though many of them are
undiagnosed. The change could raise the count to 450,000 cases.

Lead – a metal that for years was common in paint and gasoline can harm a child’s brain, kidneys and other
organs. High levels in the blood can cause coma, convulsions and death. Lower levels can reduce intelligence,
impair hearing and behavior and cause other problems.

Usually, children who get lead poisoning live in old homes that are dilapidated or under renovation.
They pick up paint chips or dust and put it in their mouths. Lead has been banned in paint since 1978.
Children have also picked up lead poisoning from soil contaminated by old leaded gasoline, and from
dust tracked in from industrial work sites.

Most cases of lead poisoning are handled by tracking and removing the lead source, and monitoring
the children to make sure lead levels stay down. A special treatment to remove lead and other heavy
metals is used for very high levels.

Specialists describe children as having lead poisoning only at those very high levels, but others use the
term more broadly to describe any child with levels that can impact intelligence or cause other harm.

The CDC’s threshold was last changed in 1991. The new standard was calculated from the highest lead
levels seen in a comprehensive annual U.S. health survey. The CDC plans to reassess that level every four years.

Health officials have been focused on young children, who are most affected by lead poisoning.
There is not a threshold for older children or adults, although pregnant women should have blood
lead levels below 5 micrograms to protect the developing fetus. Most cases in adults come from
manufacturing jobs or hobbies, but those numbers have also been declining.

Some health officials consider the CDC’s action overdue. Cleveland and other cities in northeastern
Ohio adopted a standard of 5 micrograms five years ago.

The CDC was following recommendations made to the agency in January by an advisory panel of experts.
But Portier said the agency wasn’t able to do everything the panel suggested.

For example, the panel said the CDC should do more to make sure no children are exposed to lead hazards.
It also said all doctors should report high levels to local health departments, retest the children to see if they
improve, and help teach parents how to find and eliminate lead sources. The CDC agreed that should happen,
but doesn’t have the money or staff to bolster such an effort. Congress cut the CDC lead program’s budget from
about $29 million last year to $2 million.

In many places, it’s up to city and county health departments to provide many of the services for lead poisoned
kids, and those departments have lost more than 34,000 jobs in the last three years because of budget cuts.

The timing is unfortunate, Morley said. “But we wouldn’t want to keep information from parents just because
there’s not money to provide the service,” she added.

###

NEWS RELEASE

To: Michigan Building Community

April 9, 2012

FREE Michigan Code Book with the purchase of our online 60-Hour Prelicensure program.

All for only $459.00 Hurry! Offer ends April 15th Michigan Builders 60-Hour Prelicense and Continuing
Competency Courses Now in HD Video!

Here’s what comes with our Online 60-Hour Builders Prelicensure Program

Eight builder-friendly modules that will prepare you for the State exam and for a business in the building trades.

• Free sample quizzes for the State exam, as close to the real test as it gets.

• Instructor Support for any questions while completing the program.

• All lessons are immediately accessible and printer friendly.

• All Forms and Applications needed throughout the licensing process.

• All Certificates of Completion immediately upon completion of the course.

• Free 3-Hour Code-Law-Safety Continuing Competency Course online for after you receive your license.

PLUS! New 3-Hour Construction Math Tutorial in full audio and visual format that also
qualifies as three hours of Continuing Competency. This means your first six hours of continuing
competency are FREE, all for only $459. This is the best value in the State!

FREE Michigan Residential Code Book for a limited time.

CLICK HERE to get started immediately

You can watch, listen or print your lessons.

You choose how to study!

Builder Friendly

LEARN ANYWHERE

ANYTIME 24/7!

EPA Lead Paint (RRP) classes

also available in classroom only

 ###

July 31, 2011

Have you let your Michigan Builders License Lapse?

The 60-day grace period for builders renewing their licenses in 2011 ended on July 31, 2011.
There are an estimated 15,000 Michigan builders that have not renewed their license as of that date.
So if you are one of those builders or M&A contractors that have let your license lapse, it is not too late.
Follow these steps to begin the process of reinstating your license.

1. You must resubmit an application to the State of MI.

This application is different from the initial forms when you completed the 60 hour prelicensure course.

The new applications can be found at michigan.gov/builders
Direct Link: dleg.state.mi.us/dms/results.asp?docowner=BCSC&doccat=Builders&Search=Search

Form #9 Individual Application ($185 each)

Form #7 Corporation application ($185 each)

The state will do another screening. Checking your background and looking for
“good moral character”.

2. You still need to complete the 3 Hour CE

CLICK HERE for information about our 3-Hour Continued Competency course.

 

3. You could still be one of the 17% audited by the state.

###

July 19, 2011

Online courses are “Good News!” for Michigan Builders

July 19, 2011 Traverse City, Michigan. The Building industry in Michigan has long awaited the
option of taking continuing competency and the required 60 hours of approved prelicensure
education online. With gas prices over $3.50 per gallon and the building industry in a slump,
traveling to a classroom for builders education can be a financial and time strain. The State of
Michigan has finally given a green light on allowing the online option.

In June of 2008, Michigan changed the requirements for builders and contractors to become licensed.
Prior to this date, passing a test was the largest hurdle. Now, anyone wishing to become licensed as a
Residential Builder or Maintenance and Alterations Contractor must first complete 60 hours of approved
education before being allowed to the State Exam. Continuing Competency is also required once someone
is licensed as a builder or contractor. The amount of continuing education required depends on the date
of licensing.

The Builders License Training Institute, a Michigan licensed and EPA Accredited Proprietary School
offers both the 60-hours of State-approved education and continuing competency courses online and
in cities throughout Michigan. The online option is “Good News!” for those in the industry that are
not able to attend a course in a classroom setting or a classroom option is not available in their city.
For more information or details on how to take a classroom or online builders program, call the Builders
License Training Institute at 1-800-727-7104 or visit their web site at licensetobuild.com

###

July 18, 2011

Two important courses coming to Alabama Builders and Contractors

July 18, 2011 Traverse City, Michigan. Two important one day courses will be available to builders
and contractors in Alabama during the first two weeks in August. The Alabama Home Builders License
Exam Prep course will be held in five cities between August 1st and August 5th. The EPA Accredited
Lead Paint Renovator course will be available August 8th through August 12th.

A major hurdle in obtaining a home builders license in Alabama is passing the State exam.
This one-day exam prep course is a comprehensive review of what home builders can expect to
see on the test. The course is so thorough that Builders License Training Institute stands behind it
with a money back guarantee. They claim, “Pass the test or get your money back”.

The Lead Paint Safety Renovator Certification course fulfils the EPA requirement that anyone
renovating a home or child-occupied facility built before 1978 must complete an EPA Approved
8-hour RRP course. The fines for working on homes without this certification can be as high as
$37,500.00.

CLASS LOCATIONS AND DATES

Montgomery Exam Prep, August 1st Montgomery Lead Paint Safety, August 8th

Dothan Exam Prep, August 2nd Dothan Lead Paint Safety, August 9th

Auburn Exam Prep, August 3rd Auburn Lead Paint Safety, August 10th

Birmingham Exam Prep, August 4th Birmingham Lead Paint Safety, August 11th

Huntsville Exam Prep, August 5th Huntsville Lead Paint Safety, August 12th

The Builders License Training Institute, a University of Alabama approved and EPA Accredited
Proprietary School offers these courses for only $189 each. This price is among the lowest in the State.
For more information or details on how to register for either one of these two popular courses, call the
Builders License Training Institute at 1-800-727-7104 or visit online at licensetobuild.com

###

January 7, 2011

DELEG Warns: Beware of Scam Regarding Continuing Competency Requirements Scam Targets Licensed Residential Builders and Maintenance & Alteration Contractors

Contact: Mario L. Morrow 517-373-9280

Agency: Energy, Labor & Economic Growth

NOTE: This company goes by the name of Michigan Builders License, michiganbuilderslicense.com
and acceleratedbuilderscourse.com

January 7, 2011 – Michigan Department of Energy, Labor & Economic Growth (DELEG) Acting Director
Andrew S. Levin warns Michigan licensed residential builders, and maintenance and alteration contractors
to be aware of a possible scam that involves a mailing they may have received which looks deceptively like
a mailing from DELEG.

The mailing appears to be a form similar to the department’s applications, titled “BUILDER CONTINUING
COMPETENCY.” The mailing contains inaccurate information and makes it look like the department is offering
or endorsing the specific continuing competency classes listed, which it is not.

The fraudulent letters can look authentic. They may be addressed to the licensee; cite a Michigan statute or
a federal statute; and may appear to be issued by the Michigan Department of Energy, Labor & Economic
Growth, Bureau of Commercial Services, Licensing Division. If such notices are received, they are to be
disregarded because they are neither issued by DELEG nor any governmental agency.

Any licensed builder or maintenance and alteration contractor who receives such a notice is advised
to do the following:

1. Keep the notice, mailing envelope, and return envelope.

2. Contact the U.S. Postal Inspections Service to report mail fraud at: 877-876-2455 or postalinspectors.uspis.gov/forms/MailFraudComplaint.aspx

3. Contact the Michigan Office of the Attorney General at michigan.gov/agor
P.O. Box 30212, Lansing MI 48909.

Legitimate notices and mailings to Michigan licensees are issued from
DELEG’s Licensing Division and are mailed to the address on record.

Customers with questions about their license or continuing competency
requirements are encouraged to use the department’s web site at
michigan.gov/builders or call the Licensing Division at (517) 373-8376.

For more information about DELEG, please visit michigan.gov/deleg.
Follow DELEG at twitter.com/MIDELEG, visit the “DELEG” page on
Facebook and Become a Fan or visit the Michigan Government channel on
YouTube: youtube.com/michigangovernment

###

February 22, 2010

Continued Education Is a Big “GO”! and the Builders License Training Institute
hits the ground running with the 8-Hour Lead Paint Renovation (RRP) course
and the 3-hour required course.

As of February 16, 2010, you can earn continuing competency.

• Any approved prelicensure course may be taken to fulfill the
continuing competency requirement.

• Any construction code update course approved by the Bureau of Construction
Codes may be taken to fulfill the continuing competency requirement.

• Any fire safety or workplace safety course approved or sponsored by an agency
within the Department of Energy Labor and Economic Growth (DELEG), such as
Michigan Occupational Safety and Health Administration (MIOSHA) may be taken
to fulfill the continuing competency requirement.

• Continuing competency may be earned by serving as a lecturer or discussion leader
in an approved course.

If you received your first license before January 1, 2009, you only have to take a
State-Approved Code-Law-Safety 3-hour course to renew your license in May of 2011.
Then you will need another 3-hour Code-Law-Safety course to renew in May of 2014,
and so on for every 3-year licensing cycle thereafter (or until the law changes).

When did the requirement to complete continuing competency begin?
The continuing competency requirement became effective in 2009.

During future renewal periods, individuals will be required to certify to the
number of continued competency hours earned between January 1, 2009
through May 31, 2011 according to the following number of years the individual
has been licensed.

Individuals who have been licensed less than 6 years, and received their first
license after January 1, 2009 are required to have 21 hours of continued competency
as follows: 3 hours per calendar year; a total of 21 hours over a 3 year period; and 3 of
the total 21 hours must include 1 hour of codes, 1 hour of safety and 1 hour of legal issues.
The three years coincides with your licensing anniversary date.

Individuals who have been licensed 6 years or longer are required to have 3 hours of continued
competency per license cycle as follows: 1 hour of codes, 1 hour of safety and 1 hour of legal issues.

How many hours of continuing competency are required?
During the first 6 calendar years of licensure if you were licensed after January 1, 2009 

21 hours of continuing competency hours are required. At least 3 hours shall devoted to
those activities designed to develop a licensee’s understanding and ability to apply
state building codes and laws relating to the licensed occupation, safety and changes in
construction and business management laws. In other words, you are required to complete
21 hours during the first three years of licensing and another 21 hours during the second three
year licensing cycle.

A licensee who has held a license for more than 6 years 3 hours of continuing competency
hours are required. Three hours of activities demonstrating continuing competency per license
cycle to include 1 hour of codes, 1 hours of safety, and 1 hour of legal issues.

Courses taken prior to becoming licensed cannot be used or counted toward meeting the
continuing competency requirements.

Documentation Required to be Kept
Effective 2009, a licensee shall maintain documentation for at least 5 years of activities

counted toward meeting the continuing competency requirements.

Who can offer the acceptable continuing competency courses?
Sponsors who offer approved prelicensure courses can offer those same courses to meet

the continuing competency requirements.

The subject matter of continuing competency activities may be offered by a high school,
intermediate school district, community college, university, Bureau of Construction Codes,
MIOSHA, fire safety, trade association, or a proprietary school licensed by the Department
if approved by the Department to offer prelicensure courses.

Any construction code courses approved by the Bureau of Construction Codes as well as fire
safety or workplace safety courses approved or sponsored by the Department are also considered
appropriate for fulfilling continuing competency requirements.

###

January, 2010

Builders License Training Institute

Update on CE and Online Training

The State of Michigan has not yet released any school to offer Continued Education courses or
Online/Distance learning courses for the Residential Builders or the Maintenance and Alteration
(M&A) Contractors licensing. If you complete continued education courses before the State of
Michigan allows them, they will not count.

DID YOU KNOW? If you received your initial builders or M&A license by May 31, 2009, you only
have to complete three hours of CE to renew your license in May of 2011 and all licensing cycles
thereafter. If you received your initial license after May 31, 2009, you will need to complete 14
hours of CE to renew your license in May of 2011. If the State of Michigan does not allow CE until
May of 2010, and you received your initial license after May 31, 2009, you will only need to
complete 7 hours of CE to renew your license in May of 2011. Please call us at 1-800-727-7104
if you have further questions regarding CE.

DID YOU KNOW? If you are working on homes that were built before 1978, a new law is going into
effect in April of 2010 requiring individuals involved in interior and exterior renovation, repair
and painting to complete an 8-hour lead paint safety course to get certified to work on these homes.
The Builders License Training Institute will be offering this course throughout the State of Michigan.
Call us for details. Our course will fulfill both the Lead Paint Safety Requirement and 8 hours of the
Continued Education Requirement for builders and contractors licensed after May 31, 2009.

###

December, 2009

Builders License Training Institute

10 Great Reasons To Choose the Builders License Training Institute
For Your Michigan 60-Hour Education

1. Best Price and Value in Michigan: $749.00 including all books and materials.

2. Includes four great books and an online State Exam Prep Course: Michigan Code Book,
Carpentry and Building Construction textbook, Profit from Building Green and Marketing
PowerPak. This $325 in value comes FREE.

3. Now in 32 cities throughout Michigan. There is always a program scheduled within a reasonable
driving distance.

4. We prepare you for the State exam throughout the 60 hours. The free online course is separate
and complements our program with sample quizzes on all test topics.

5. We have the most flexible makeup policy. If you miss a day, you can make it up at any location,
and we hold more programs in more locations than all of the other schools combined.

6. We have the most consistent record for holding classes. We seldom cancel.

7. Relaxed, stress-free method of teaching. No tests or homework “ an enjoyable quality education
without the anxiety.

8. Class surveys show that students love our program and our instructors. Let our experienced
professionals teach you how to grow and prosper in your business.

9. Strong support after the class. We have an instructor on staff during business hours at
1-800-727-7104 for any questions or help after the program ends.

10. Three convenient venues: 2-week programs held during business hours, 3-week and
4-week programs that work around business hours.

Call 1-800-727-7104 for a program near you.

###

November, 2009

Builders License Training Institute

Lead Paint Safety RRP Rule

Under the Renovation, Repair and Paint (RRP) Rule beginning in April 2010, contractors
performing renovation, repair and painting projects that disturb lead-based paint in homes,
child care facilities, and schools built before 1978 must be certified and must follow specific
work practices to prevent lead contamination. This applies to any contractor working on
pre-1978 structures, including electrical, plumbing, mechanical and drywall, as well as building
contractors. Individuals can obtain this certification by completing an approved eight-hour
training course.

Exception: Individuals who have successfully completed renovation courses developed by HUD
or the EPA, or an abatement worker or supervisor course accredited by the EPA or an authorized
State or Tribal program, can become certified renovators by taking a four hour EPA-accredited
renovator refresher training.

The Builder License Training Institute will be providing these courses in all locations where 60-hour
builders prelicensure programs are being held beginning in 2010.

###

October 9, 2009

Builders License Training Institute Releases New 30-Hour Program for Spouses and Salespeople

The Builders License Training Institute is proud to announce a new aspect of the 60-hour
Builders Prelicense Program that is geared toward spouses and sales staff. This new feature
is 30 hours in length and covers the business aspects that are often handled by a spouse or
salesperson in a building contractor business.

There are four courses in this new 30-hour program that current students have requested for
their spouses and office staff to attend:

1. Business of Building (9-hours)

2. Contracts, Liabilities and Insurance (7 hours)

3. Project Management for Contractors (7 hours)

4. Marketing for Building Contractors (7 hours)

By including this feature as part of the 60-hour program, it can be offered in all 23 cities
throughout Michigan that the current program is held. The cost is only $300 making it
economical for office staff to obtain a complete understanding of how to run the office,
manage risk and increase market potential. This allows the builder or contractor to focus
on the jobs. “This is especially nice because it allows a student to complete the 30 hours
of the State required education that pertains to how a business is run. Then they can come
back later and complete the Trades portion, allowing them to actually go ahead and get
licensed if they choose, claims Mark Swanson, instructor for Builders License Training Institute.

The Builders License Training Institute is a proprietary school offering the State-approved
60-hour prelicensing program and Continuing Education throughout Michigan. For more
information on courses offered near you, call the Builders License Training Institute at
1-800-727-7104 or go to licensetobuild.com

###

October 2, 2009

Builders License Training Institute Forms Alliance With Contractorsyoucantrust.com

The Builders License Training Institute (BLTI) would like to announce an alliance
recently formed with contractorsyoucantrust.com (CYCT). Contractorsyoucantrust.com
is a web-based company that assists homeowners in finding reputable contractors in all
industries with which a homeowner would contract.

“We are forming this alliance because contactorsyoucantrust.com qualifies contractors
that reach a standard of excellence. That same standard is what we promote in our courses”,
says Dave Francis, President of the Builders License Training Institute.
“This is not just a membership-based business where you pay a fee and you’re in. Contractors have
 to prove themselves worthy”,adds Dave. To be listed with CYCT, contractors must provide appropriate
license and insurance certificates, as well as meet and pass a series of stringent requirements. Failure to
meet specific guidelines disqualifies a contractor from membership. If a company is listed on CYCT, you
can have confidence they are qualified to perform the service.

The Builders License Training Institute is a proprietary school offering the State-approved 60-hour
prelicensing program and Continuing Education throughout Michigan. For more information on this
alliance or courses offered near you, call the Builders License Training Institute at 1-800-727-7104
or go to licensetobuild.com

###

 

September, 2009

Update on Michigan Builders License Continuing Education Requirements

Michigan laws were changed in 2008 requiring Residential Builders to complete continuing
competency requirements before they will be allowed to renew their licenses in 2011. So far,
the State of Michigan has not yet finalized the rules surrounding Continuing Competency.
Until the rules are confirmed no providers will be approved to provide continuing
competency courses.

“It generally takes 12-18 months for the State of Michigan to promulgate rules” according to
Lee Schwartz of the MAHB. “We do not know when these rules will be promulgated as they are
sill in draft form and are not high on the department’s priority list,” adds Lee. Until the rules
are promulgated, no licensee under Article 24 will have to do any continuing competency.
Once the rules are finalized and providers are approved, it is expected that the required
number of hours will be pro-rated for that licensing cycle. In other words, If 21 hours are
required over three years, but there are only two years left in the licensing cycle, the licensee
will only be required to complete 14 hours.

One rule that has been finalized is that all residential builders and maintenance and alteration
contractors that obtained their initial license before May 31, 2009 will only be required to
complete three hours of continuing competency in order to renew their license at the end
of each licensing cycle.

The Builders License Training Institute will be offering Continuing Competency Courses in all
23 cities that they currently offer the 60-hour prelicensure programs. The courses will be
competitively priced and will fulfill state requirements. For further information on continuing
competency requirements call the Builders License Training Institute at 1-800-727-7104 or
go to licensetobuild.com

###

August, 2009

Michigan 60-Hour Program Available in 23 Cities in the Fall of 2009

The State of Michigan has changed their builders licensing laws so that contractors now have
to complete 60 hours of State approved education before they are able to apply for a license.
Sometimes finding a local program can be difficult. The State web site only gives the city in
which the school is headquartered, but does not give specific program locations. The Builders
License Training Institute is the only approved school holding complete 60-hour prelicense
programs throughout the entire State of Michigan including at least three locations in the
Upper Peninsula.

Getting licensed in Michigan is now a three step process:

Step 1 –  is completing the 60 hours of approved education.

Step 2 – is sending the licensing application to the State and waiting as long
                as six weeks for approval.

Step 3 – is passing the State exam.

“Builders are not allowed to even schedule their State builders licensing exam until after their
 license application is approved. This can sometimes take up to six weeks,” says Teri Francis,
Education Coordinator for the Builders License Training Institute. “Our goal is to make sure
students attend a quality education program and are completely prepared for the State exam
once their license is approved,” Teri adds.

The cost of the 60-hour prelicense program through the Builders License Training Institute is
$750 and includes all books and course materials. There are no hidden costs and they have even
added an online State exam preparation program that is given to every student upon completion
of the 60 hours. Students have a waiting period between steps two and three. This online exam study
course reinforces the information that students learned during the 60-hour program.

The Builders License Training Institute is also approved by the Michigan No Worker Left Behind Program,
also known as Michigan WORKS! Students need to contact their local Unemployment Office If they feel
they qualify for funding. If they do, the program will pay all tuition fees. For more information on the
Builders License Training Institute programs, call 1-800-727-7104 or go to licensetobuild.com on the web.

###

March, 2009

Get Licensed by May 31st and Forgo 29 Hours of Required Continued Education

Beginning June 1, 2009, Residential Builders and M&A Contractors are required to meet continuing
competency requirements. If you receive your initial license by May 31st, 2009, you will bypass 29
hours of continued education requirements.

In other words, if you receive your initial license as an individual by May 31st, 2009, you will only
need to complete three total hours of continuing competency courses or activities during each
licensing cycle.

If you receive your initial license after May 31st, you must complete 14 hours of continuing
competency to renew your license in May of 2011. You will also be required to complete 21
hours of continuing competency during the 3-year renewal cycle that ends May, 2014.

The Builders License Training Institute is holding Prelicensure Programs throughout Michigan
and will be holding Continuing Competency (CE) courses once the State begins approving them.
For course locations and the latest updates on CE approval, please go to licensetobuild.com
or call the Builders License Training Institute at 1-800-727-7104.

###

March, 2009

Continued Education Waived for Builders License Renewal in 2009

The Michigan Department of Energy, Labor and Economic Growth (DELEG) waived all continuing
competency requirements for residential builders and maintenance and alteration contractors
licenses due to expire in 2009.

If your license was due to expire on May 31 of this year, you may now renew it without having to
worry about meeting the continuing competency requirements that were enacted into law in
June of 2008.

The postponement is for this year only. Licensees will have to meet continuing competency
requirements during the next license cycle.

The Builders License Training Institute will be holding Continuing Competency (CE) courses
throughout Michigan once the State begins approving them. We are told by the DELEG that they
are hoping to begin approving CE courses in June, 2009. For the latest updates on CE approval,
please go to licensetobuild.com or call the Builders License Training Institute at 1-800-727-7104.

###

October, 2008

Most Builders and Contractors Don’t Know Their Legal Rights

A poll of 125 builders and contractors across Michigan shows that 7 out of 10 did not know
their rights as a licensed builder. All of these students are either currently enrolled or have
just completed the newly required 60-hour prelicensing program offered by the Builders
License Training Institute approved by the State of Michigan.

Michigan Residential Builders and Maintenance and Alteration Contractors are now required
to complete 60 hours of State approved training before they will be allowed to sit for the State
exam for licensure. The Builders License Training Institute offers a series of nine courses that
make up the 60-hour program. The first of these nine courses is called the Business of Building
and it is devoted to interpreting the rules and regulations of the licensees, as well as necessary
steps in putting together a business in the building trades. We have found that the majority of our
students are not aware of the rights that benefit them or the rules that regulate them, says Dave
Francis, co-owner of the Builders License Training Institute. Many tradespeople don’t learn about
their rights until they are in trouble and have to exercise them, which often can be too late.

“I would spend $750 just for the Business of Building part A”, says Cody, a student enrolled in the
Petoskey course. “I may have never learned my rights had I not taken this course. Even though the
laws surrounding the Michigan Builders License are available at the State website, few tradespeople
actually take the time to look them up. Once they do, the laws are written in legal format which is
difficult to interpret or understand. Most people give up after a page or two.

The Builders License Training Institute now offers the 60-hour prelicensing program throughout
the State of Michigan. The newest locations that have been added to the schedule are Jackson,
Lansing and Tawas City. For a program near you, go to licensetobuild.com or call 1-800-727-7104.

Online Education Guarantee
AIA Continuing Education
Builders License Training Institute, Training Programs, Traverse City, MI
Online Education ICC Members
Members of TC Chamber of Commerce
Licensed Michigan Proprietary School

 

Verified Authorize.net Continuing Education
Members of North American Home Builders Association
Members of International Code Council
Members of the International Distance Education Code Council
Members of the Environmental Protection Association
Members of the Grand Traverse Home Builders Association

 

Site Map | Privacy and Refund Policy | Clear Cache

Copyright © 2017 Builders License Training Institute, 3135 Logan Valley Rd., Traverse City, MI 49684