New Jersey Contractor FAQs

To register for the New Home Warranty Program, submit a registration application, along with a nonrefundable registration fee of $200 to the Program.  For information and application:

State of New Jersey – Dept. of Community Affairs
Division of Codes and Standards
Bureau of Homeowners Protection – New Home Warranty Program
P.O. Box 805
101 South Broad Street
Trenton, NJ  08625-0805
Phone:  (609) 984-6635 or (609) 984-7563
Fax:  (609) 292-2839
Website:  http://www.state.nj.us/dca

If approved, the builder is issued a registration card, which must be shown to the local construction official when construction permits for the new home are obtained.

To register as a Home Improvement Contractor:

1.  Complete and submit an application form – available online at the Division website at:  http://www.njconsumeraffairs.gov/HIC/
2.  File proof of commercial general liability insurance
3.  Include non-refundable fee of $90 payable to the Division

Submit to:

State of New Jersey
Division of Consumer Affairs
Regulated Business Section – Home Improvement Unit
124 Halsey Street, 7th Floor
P.O. Box 46016
Newark, NJ  07101
Phone:  (609) 292-9292
Website:  www.state.nj.us/njbgs

Also check with county/city for local regulations.

No, not on the state level. Check with county/city municipality for their requirements.

No, not at the state level.  Check with county/city for local requirements.

The Contractor Registration Act requires annual renewal.

No

No

Out-of-state contractors who sell or make improvements to homes or non-commercial properties in New Jersey must register with the Division.

Also check with county and local municipalities.

Information is continually added and updated. Please check back

Really great; I learned a great deal. *****
Richard K.
Chat with us