The Nebraska Contractor Registration Act requires contractors and subcontractors doing business in Nebraska to register with the Nebraska Department of Labor.

Application for registration and information may be obtained from:

Nebraska Department of Labor
Labor Law/Contractor Registration
550 So. 16th Street, 3rd Floor
Lincoln, NE  68508
Phone:  (402) 471-2239
Fax:  (402) 471-5039

Include the $40 registration fee

All contractors with 1 or more employees must provide a current Workers’ Compensation Certification of Insurance.

Also contact your county or local municipality for local regulations.

No, not at this time

No, not at this time. You will receive a renewal letter from the Department of Labor with instructions to enter your Registration Number and Voucher Number with the state. Renewal is annually. Renewal fee: $40.


Contractors must register. A contractor is any person who engages in the business of construction and includes subcontractors, general contractors, and any other person arranging for the performance of work on real property.

Out-of-state Contractors will need to provide in-state contact information for Registered Agent – a person or entity designed to receive important tax or other legal documents on behalf of the company. The Registered Agent must be located and available at a legal address within the specified jurisdiction at all time.

  • Information Last Updated: 04/2020
  • Did you find incorrect information? Email Us
It was highly educational on safety on which will help me and my company save lives and keep safe on the job site in everyday life. – April 17, 2018
Charlie Tregale - Massachusetts
Live Chat