- The State of Minnesota will not allow you to take the same course twice within a 2-year cycle. Please check your records or call us at 1-800-727-7104 if you cannot remember which course you have already taken. Thank you.
- All text courses are printable for your records, however, the actual course needs to be completed online as the time is monitored. The MN DLI requires a minimum amount of time be spent in each course and your time will only be recorded if you are logged in and active in your online course.
Minnesota Builders FAQs
- 14 hours of continuing education, including 1 hour of energy code have to be completed every 2 years.
- The same CE course may not be taken twice in a licensing cycle.
- Two continuing education courses may not be completed on the same date.
- Half of the builders and remodelers in Minnesota renew each year by March 31st.
- There is no longer a lead paint requirement with the continued education. That requirement changed to Energy Code several years ago.
- NOTE: The State of Minnesota will not allow you to take the same course twice within a 2-year cycle or complete 2 courses on the same date. Please check your records or call us at 1-800-727-7104 if you cannot remember which course you have already taken.
Minnesota Residential Building Contractors
443 Lafayette Rd. North
St. Paul, MN 55155
According to the Minnesota Department of Labor and Industry (DLI), contractors have until 11:59 pm on March 31st, 2017 to renew their BC license. Contractors will be charged an $80.00 late fee for any renewal payments processed after the deadline.
- A late fee of $80 is automatically assessed when a completed renewal is not received in DLI’s offices by the license expiration date.
- By law, a completed license renewal submitted by March 1 is automatically deemed to be a timely renewal.
- DLI cannot guarantee that renewals submitted after March 1 will be processed prior to the expiration date, and a license cannot be considered to be renewed until it is completely processed and approved by DLI.
- After March 31, municipalities cannot issue building permits to contractors whose license renewals have not been processed and approved.
- The late applications with the $80 late fee are accepted for two years after your license renewal date.
We submit your continuing education directly to the Minnesota Department of Labor and Industry using your qualified individual license, examples include QB123456 or QC987654.