HD VIDEO WITH PRINTABLE TEXT • AVAILABLE 24/7 • MOBILE FRIENDLY


60-Hour Prelicense Course and Packages

Online 60 Hour Michigan Builders Prelicensure Course

The state of Michigan requires ALL persons seeking a Builders or M&A license to complete 60 hours of prelicensure training.  This course is fully accepted by the state of Michigan, and will fully prepare you to PASS the state exam. 

  • The Michigan Residential Code Book is required for the program. 
  • Provided in both Video and Printable Text
  • Michigan Approval #364-CP3018
  • Includes a Complete Step-By-Step Guide to Getting Licensed  
 

$349.00Add to cart

Online 60 Hour Course and Books Package #1

  • 60 Hour Prelicense Online Course
  • Michigan 2015 Residential Code Book
  • Carpentry and Building Construction Book, 2016 Edition (Recommended)
  • Includes a Complete Step-By-Step Guide to Getting Licensed
 

$535.00Add to cart

Online 60 Hour Course and MI Code Book Package #2

  • 60 Hour Prelicense Online Course
  • Michigan Residential Code Book, 2015 Edition
  • Includes a Complete Step-By-Step Guide to Getting Licensed
 

$464.00Add to cart

Online 60 Hour Course and Carpentry & Building Construction Book Package #3

  • 60 Hour Prelicense Online Course
  • Carpentry and Building Construction, 2016 Edition (Recommended)
  • Includes a Complete Step-By-Step Guide to Getting Licensed
 

$429.00Add to cart

Here's What Our Students Think

“… thank you for offering the 60-hour online course. I am certain that your course is the reason that I passed my Michigan license test on the first try.  Thanks again!”   Matthew Jacks from Caspian, Michigan

"I just wanted to let your staff know that I passed both parts of the builder's exam this past Thursday. The prelicensure course was awesome and full of an awful lot of extra information that I’m sure will help me get off to a good start."

- Ron Scholl from Michigan

Classroom 60-Hour Prelicensure Courses

Grand Rapids 60 Hour Michigan Prelicensure Classroom Course | December 11-16

December 11-16

Eikenhout
308 Wealthy St SW
Grand Rapids, MI  49503

Room number will be posted at the facility

This is a 6-day Super Fast-track program that runs Monday thru Saturday 7:30 am until 5:00 pm.
COURSE DETAILS

 

$559.00Add to cart

Troy 60 Hour Michigan Prelicensure Classroom Course | Feb 26 - March 3

February 26 – March 3, 2018

Walsh College
3838 Livernois Rd.
Troy, MI 48007

This is a 6-day Super Fast-track program that runs Monday thru Friday from 7:30 am to 5:00 pm and Saturday 8:00 am to 5:00 pm.
COURSE DETAILS

 

$559.00Add to cart

Online 60-Hour Exam Prep Refresher 

Michigan Complete Exam Prep Refresher Course Package

This package contains:

  • Business of Building Refresher course
  • Overview of Building Trades Refresher course
  • Construction Math Tutorial course
  • Exam Prep Tools for Business & Law
  • Exam Prep Tools for Trades
  • Includes a Complete Step-By-Step Guide to Getting Licensed

*This package is also included in the purchase of any State required 60-Hour course.

 

$159.00Add to cart

Michigan Residential Builder and M&A Contractor 2-Exam Prep Tools Package

This online course includes hundreds of practice questions for Business & Law and Trades just like those on the State exam.  As close to the real test as it gets!

*Exam Prep included with the purchase of State required 60-Hour course package.

 

$99.00Add to cart

Michigan Books (Free Priority Shipping)

 

Michigan Residential Code Book 2015 (Most Current)

Produced by the International Code Council, Inc. (ICC)  This is the latest edition that is available for the Michigan Residential Code for one- and two-family dwellings and the Michigan Uniform Energy Code.  The State of Michigan requires all licensed builders and contractors to own this including those taking the state exam to become licensed. 

 

$145.00Add to cart

Add Approved Preprinted Tabs
 

$7.00Add to cart

Carpentry and Building Construction 2016 Edition

Carpentry & Building Construction is a comprehensive carpentry book that focuses on residential construction with many procedures also applying to light commercial construction. The informative text provides detailed, heavily illustrated information about materials, tools, and processes, with many step-by-step procedures.  It is recommended for all states as a helpful text in studying for any of the trades exams and is an excellent reference source for contractors to own.

 

$110.00Add to cart

Add Approved Preprinted Tabs
 

$7.00Add to cart

Tools for Construction Math Video Tutorial

This 3 hour video tutorial contains 42 math problems similar to those you will see on the State exam.  

Produced by Builders License Training Institute, our Construction Math tutorial is fully narrated and easy to understand! Just follow along with Josh Francis as he demonstrates over 40 construction math situations that builders are faced with daily.

 

 

 

 

$19.00Add to cart

Frequently Asked Questions

What are the steps to obtain a Michigan Builders or a Maintenance & Alteration License?
  1. Complete an approved 60-Hour Prelicense Course for builders. 
    NOTE: Our 60-Hour builders license Program covers both parts of the exam thoroughly and provides hundreds of sample questions as close to the real test as it gets. Our Michigan builders license course will provide you with the tools you need to pass the Michigan builders license exam.
  2. Send your license application, Certificates of Completion and $195 fee to the State of Michigan for approval. This usually takes 2-4 weeks.
  3. Register with PSI for the State Exam ($111) and pass it on your first try (Free exam prep courses are part of our packages). To schedule your Michigan Builders testing date:
    Call PSI at (800) 733-9267, 24 hours a day and schedule using the Automated Registration System or speak with a representative between 7:30 A.M. to 8:00 P.M. ET.
    You will be told immediately after passing the exam if you passed.  PSI will notify the State of Michigan Licensing Division and they will send you your license and identification card.
    Builders license exams are given at the following locations:
    • Dearborn
    • Gaylord
    • Grand Rapids
    • Lansing (Holt)
    • Marquette
    • Southfield

 

What can I expect in your 60-Hour Prelicense Course?

Our 60-hour program consists of eight separate courses:

  1. Business of Building walks you through setting up your business, the rules that apply and prepares you for the Business/Law portion of the State exam.
    60-hours Business management, estimating, and job costing; 3 hours Electives)
  2. Marketing for Contractors teaches you how to bring in new customers year round.
    (6 hours Marketing and Sales; 1-hour Electives)
  3. Project Management teaches you how to complete your projects on time and on budget.
    (6 hours Project Management and Scheduling; 1-hour Electives)
  4. Contracts and Risk Management makes sure you understand the importance of contracts and insurance.
    (6 hours Contracts and Risk Management; 1-hour Electives)
  5. Construction Safety reviews the OSHA Standards of the industry.
    (6 hours Construction safety standards promulgated under the Michigan occupational safety and health act, 1974 PA 154, MCL 408.1001 to 408.1094; 1-hour Electives)
  6. Overview of Building Trades focuses on what you need to know to pass the Trades portion of the State exam.
    (9 hours Electives)
  7. Building Green shows you how to save your customer’s money and boost your profit at the same time.
    (6 hours Design and Building Science; 1-hour Electives)
  8. Residential Code Review walks you through the code book so you can use it as a tool.
    (6 hours of the Current Michigan Residential Code; 1-hour Electives)

Also included with the course:

  • Step-By-Step Users Guide to completing the program.
  • The best test prep software available, with sample questions as close to the real test as it gets.
  • Construction Math tutorial that teaches you the math formulas you will see on the State exam.
  • All forms and applications you will need, along with step by step instructions of the licensing process.
  • Certificates of Completion
  • Instructor Support (click here for more information)
  • Money Back Guarantee — Pass the test on your first try or get your money back.
What can I expect with the State Exam?

The State exam is made up of two main parts:

Part 1 Business and Law Exam – There are 50 questions on the exam and you must answer at least 36 questions correctly in order to pass. The minimum passing score is 72%. You are allowed 75 minutes to complete the exam.

Part 2 – Trades Exam – The Trades Exam is different for the Individual Residential Builder and the Maintenance & Alteration licensing:

  • Residential Builder Trades Exam – There are 100 questions on the Residential Builder exam and you must answer at least 73 questions correctly in order to pass. The minimum passing score is 73%. You are allowed 150 minutes to complete the exam.
  • Maintenance & Alteration Trades Exam – A separate trade exam is required for each trade you wish to be licensed in. Each trade exam ranges from 25 to 50 questions. Please click on the  link below for the PSI candidate information bulletin.

candidate information bulletin is included with our 60-Hour prelicensure course which outlines the topics covered on the exam.  If you are taking an exam for an individual trade, please call us or email us and we will send you the outline for that trade.  You can also find this information at www.psiexams.com.

How can you be so sure students will pass the first time?

Our 60-hour course has two 9 hours portions devoted entirely to the test: Business of Building focuses on the 50-question Business Law exam; Overview of Building Trades focuses on the Trades exam.  Even the State Mandated portions reinforce test information throughout.

Included is a sample question program with hundreds of questions as close to the real test as it gets.

Included is a Construction Math Tutorial made up of 42 fully narrated math problems just like those on the State exam.

Entire 60 hours reviews the information found on the State exam.  No one knows that test better than the Builders License Training Institute.

Go to the Michigan FAQ’s to learn all there is to know about becoming a Michigan Builder and Continuing Education.

NOTE: If you prefer to pay for your course with a check or money order, please CLICK HERE to print a copy of our convenient mail-in order form. (We do not accept checks by phone.) Payment must be received 7 business days prior to class date.  If you’ve chosen an online class, you will be notified when the class is activated.

Do I need to take the 60-hour prelicensure course if I held a license in the past?

If you are applying for a license or re-licensure as a residential builder or residential maintenance and alteration (M&A) contractor, you may be exempt from the requirement of successfully completing prelicensure courses if all of the following are met:

  1. Your application is submitted between September 16, 2014, and March 16, 2016, and
  2. You held an individual license as a residential builder or residential maintenance and alteration (M&A) contractor, or held a license as a qualifying officer of a licensed residential builder or residential maintenance and alteration (M&A) contractor, at any time within the 9-year period preceding your application.

NOTE: The information above regarding the waiver of the prelicensure course–if you were actively licensed in the past nine years–is effective until March 2016. The waiver is part of a temporary amendment that expires March 16, 2016.

To be sure, we recommend you call the Builders Unit within the State of Michigan at (517) 373-8376 and ask them to verify whether you need to take the 60-hour program.

Do I have to buy the Residential Code Book to get Licensed?

The State of Michigan requires all licensed builders and contractors to own a current copy of the Michigan Residential Code Book. You are required to sign a portion of the license application and any renewal forms confirming that you own the current code book.  

Click HERE to purchase a Michigan Residential Code Book 2015 

Is the Michigan Residential Builders or Maintenance & Alteration exam open book?

No, the exam is closed book. You are only allowed to take silent, battery-operated calculators into the exam. They cannot have a keyboard on them or the ability to convert measurements from inches to feet to yards. We suggest that you take two calculators in case there is a malfunction with one.

What can I expect from the Michigan Residential Builders and M&A Exam?

The State exam is made up of two main parts:

  • Part 1 Business and Law Exam – There are 50 questions on the exam and you must answer at least 36 questions correctly in order to pass. The minimum passing score is 72%. You are allowed 75 minutes to complete the exam.
  • Part 2 – Trades Exam – The Trades Exam is different for the Individual Residential Builder and the Maintenance & Alteration licensing:
    Residential Builder Trades Exam – There are 100 questions on the Residential Builder exam and you must answer at least 73 questions correctly in order to pass. The minimum passing score is 73%. You are allowed 150 minutes to complete the exam.

Maintenance & Alteration Trades Exam – A separate trade exam is required for each trade you wish to be licensed in. Each trade exam ranges from 25 to 50 questions. Please click on the link below for the PSI candidate information bulletin.

A candidate information bulletin is included with our 60-Hour course which outlines the topics covered on the exam. If you are taking an exam for an individual trade, please call us or email us and we will send you the outline for that trade. You can also find this information at www.psiexams.com.

What is the difference between a “Residential Builder” license and a “Residential Maintenance & Alteration Contractor” license?

The Residential Builder may build a new home from the ground up or may do any kind of repairs. The builder may contract for the whole job but will have to subcontract for plumbing, electrical, and mechanical (heating, ventilation, air conditioning) work.

The Residential Maintenance & Alteration (M&A) Contractor is licensed to perform only specific trades and services and may accept contracts only in the services for which they are licensed (whether or not the building is new construction or remodeling).

The M&A trades and their equivalent letter codes are:

Carpentry (A)
Concrete (B)
Excavation (D)
Insulation Work (G)
Masonry (I)
Painting & Decorating (J)
Siding (K)
Roofing (M)
Screen & Storm Sash (N)
Gutters (O)
Tile & Marble (P)
House Wrecking (R)
Swimming Pools (S)
Basement Waterproofing (T)
Each of these trades must be performed by a licensee.

Each Residential Builder receives a wall license and a pocket card showing that he or she is properly licensed. For the Residential Maintenance & Alteration Contractor

Do I have to take the 60-Hour Prelicense Course if I'm only going to be working in one trade?

Yes, even the M&A Contractors have to complete the whole 60 hours of builders prelicensure education before applying for the license or registering for the exam. Even if you are only painting or building swimming pools. There are no exceptions.

Where do I take my exam once my license application has been approved?

PSI Examinations Services has testing centers in Dearborn, Holt, Gaylord, Grand Rapids, Marquette, and Southfield. You can test out of State at any of the PSI centers, but you would have to submit the Out-Of-State form and make special arrangements. You can get the form from their website at www.psiexams.com.

Can I use my Michigan Builders License to work in other States?

The Michigan Builders License is not reciprocal with other States.

Can I get licensed in Michigan if my company is in another State?

The Michigan Builders License is not reciprocal with other States. Out of State Companies that want to become licensed in Michigan must include this form with the application: Michigan Application C Consent to Service of Process form.

When is a license required for a Residential Builder or Maintenance & Alteration Contractor?

In general, a person who contracts with a property owner to do residential construction or remodeling on a project whose total value is $600 or more, including material and labor, is required to be licensed as either a Residential Builder or a Maintenance & Alteration Contractor.

Activities Requiring a Licensed Individual

New Construction/Remodeling of homes, apartment buildings, condominiums, townhouses, etc.
Carpentry
Concrete 
Excavation
Insulation Work
Masonry
Painting & Decorating
Siding
Roofing
Screen & Storm Sash
Gutters
Tile & Marble
House Wrecking
Swimming Pools
Replacement windows/doors /garage doors
Laying wood floors
Basement Waterproofing

ACTIVITY LICENSE – NOT REQUIRED

Drywall
Fences
Awnings
Sewer and septic, water lines, sprinklers
Pavers without mortar
Asphalt paving
House moving
Carpeting and vinyl floors (not wood)
Plaster and Lath

The Occupational Code lists several exemptions from the licensing law. Some of the more common exemptions are:

An owner of property, with reference to a structure on the property for the owner’s own use and occupancy.

An owner of rental property, with reference to the maintenance and alteration of that rental property.

A subcontractor to a licensed builder, that is, a person other than a salesperson who engages solely in the business of performing work and services under contract with a Residential Builder or a Residential Maintenance & Alteration Contractor licensed under this article.

A person working on 1 undertaking or project by 1 or more contracts, the aggregate contract price for which labor, material, and any other item is less than $600.00. A license is required if the construction work is only a part of a larger or major operation (whether undertaken by the same or a different Residential Builder or Residential Maintenance & Alteration Contractor), or in which a division of the operation is made in contracts of amounts less than $600.00 to evade this act.

For the full text of the exemptions, you may wish to visit the Builders website at www.michigan.gov/builders and review Article 24 of the Occupational Code.

As a licensed Residential Builder or M&A contractor, how much electrical or plumbing can I do?

By the letter of the law, a residential builder’s license does not allow you to do any electrical, plumbing or mechanical work. Please contact the state of Michigan for further information.

Do I need a license to “flip houses”?

MCL 339.2401(b) requires that a person who “engages in purchase, substantial rehabilitation or improvement, and resale of a residential structure, engaging in that activity on the same structure more than twice in 1 calendar year” have a residential builder or M&A contractor license unless the work is for the person’s own use and occupancy, they contract/hire a licensee to perform all the work, or they have a licensed employee who does the work.

What is required for an unlicensed owner-builder to sell their property?

An unlicensed property owner who acts as his/her own general contractor is required to reside in the home upon completion and issuance of the occupancy permit. An owner-builder shall not sell or transfer ownership for at least 365 days after living (full or part-time) in the residential structure. If the owner-builder is unable to reside in the home due to unforeseen circumstances, the home may be sold (this exception can only be used once per year). For more information see
the Owner Built Residence Transfer Act, Public Act 6 of 2008.

Is the NASCLA Accredited Commercial Contractor license accepted in Michigan?

No.

Can I pay for my course with a check or money order?

YES! To send payments using a cashiers check or money order
please click here to print a: MAIL ORDER FORM

Please be sure to fill in all the information correctly as it will be used to create your order and Certificates (if applicable).

Funding Assistance ProgramsMichigan Builders and Contractors Reference Book Store - Free Shipping on all book orders