HAWAII CONTRACTOR FAQ

Anyone who contracts to perform residential, commercial, or public works construction, alterations, or improvements must hold a contractor license. A license is not required if the aggregate contract price for the project, including labor, materials, taxes, and all other items, is not more than $1,000 and does not require a building permit. This exemption does not apply to electrical or plumbing work requiring a permit.

The state of Hawaii has three license classifications:  General engineering contractors (fixed work projects such as highways, bridges, water power, etc), General Building contractors (construction of structures involving more than two unrelated building trades), and Specialty Contractors (list and descriptions can be found on web site).  All applicants for licensure must:

1.  Submit application along with the $50 per application fee  to the Board by the 20th of the month for review by the Board during the following month.  The following items must be included with the application:

     a.  Submit not less than 3 notarized certificates in support of supervisory experience.
b.  Submit a current financial statement prepared and signed by a licensed public or certified accountant (holding current permit)
c.  Submit a current credit report from a credit reporting agency issued not more than 6 months ago covering the previous 5 years
d.  Submit a current Hawaii State Tax Clearance (not more than 6 months old) with original State Dept. of Taxation stamp
e.  If you are planning to use a trade name, you must submit a filed-stamped copy of current trade name registration approved by the Business Registration Division of the Department of Commerce and Consumer Affairs

Mail completed application, fee and documents to:

Contractors License Board
DCCA, PVL Licensing Board
P.O. Box 3469
Honolulu, HI  96801

A copy of the contractors laws and rules may be obtained by submitting written request to above address or at:  www.hawaii.gov/dcca/pvl.  Detailed instructions and forms can also be found on this web site.

2.  Board notifies applicant of approval/disapproval/deferral
3.  Approved applicant registers with a separate testing agency (Prometric) for exam and pays Prometric exam fees
4.  Applicant takes exam the following month
5.  Upon passing the exam, board notifies applicant of license requirements
6.  Applicant submits license requirements (proof of liability & property damage and workers compensation insurance, etc.)
7.  Submit license fees.  Specific amounts will be given at the appropriate time.

Once all of these are met, the Board issues a license to the applicant.  Licensee must maintain a place of business and insurance coverage.

Yes.  The applicant must have 4 years supervisory experience within the past 10 years immediately preceding the filing of an application and must also submit not less than 3 certificates in support of supervisory experience with the application.  All certificates must be notarized.  Certain technical training may be approved as acceptable experience, but in no case shall the training count for more than one year of experience.

The applicant must also pass an examination in the appropriate classification.  Upon approval by the Board, all applicants will be provided with examination registration forms which they must mail, together with the examination fees, directly to Prometric (professional testing service) – (808) 261-8182.  Applicants must pass a written examination covering the following:

Part I –  Business and Law
Part II –  Trade

Questions regarding the examination, study material, or sitting for the exam in another state should be directed to the testing agency:  Prometric – (808) 261-8182 – www.prometric.com/hawaii

No. All licenses, regardless of issuance date, expire on September 30th of the even-numbered year. Renewal applications are sent by mail around August 15 of even-numbered years. Licensees must submit their renewal application and all required documents and fees by September 30 of the even numbered year or the license is forfeited. The licensee has 60 days from the expiration date to restore the forfeited license by submitting all required documents and fees, including a late renewal fee or the licensee will be treated as a new applicant when applying to restore the license.

No

Yes

No. All applicants must meet the same licensing and examination requirements.

Information is continually added and updated. Please check back

No issues…instructors made efficient use of our time. *****
Jared G.
Chat with us