The following information details our refund policies. We encourage our students to call with their questions and concerns and, as always, our staff personally takes their calls from 9am-5pm EST.
Exam Preparation Courses: This policy applies to failed exams after completing our exam prep course(s) in the following states or specialty areas: Alabama, Arizona, Arkansas, Georgia, Louisiana, Maryland, Massachusetts, Michigan (Salesperson), Minnesota, Mississippi, Oregon, North Carolina, South Carolina, Utah, Virginia (excluding the Basic Business course), and NASCLA. The entire tuition will be refunded if on the first attempt, the student fails the Business & Law portion and the Trades portion of the exam or one portion is failed twice, providing the course has been completed in its entirety and the exam is taken within 6 months of purchasing the course. A copy of the original receipt and the exam failure notices are required to obtain a refund. All refunds will be less any books that were included with the course as promotional items.
Tennessee does not allow pre-license training companies to offer a refund guarantee; therefore, this Refund Policy does not apply to Tennessee exam prep courses. Please know that the Tennessee courses are of the same high standards as all other state courses and we believe in “satisfaction guaranteed.” Please contact us if you experience a problem in passing your exam(s).
We do not provide refunds for the FAA courses or the Real Estate Courses.
Refund Deadline: Due to the frequency of exam changes and material preparation enhancements, all refund guarantees will be honored up to six months (except if otherwise stated) from the date of purchase. The request for refund must be made within six months of purchase date or if the exam(s) are taken in the 6th month from the date of purchase, a refund may be requested within 30 days of the exam date. A copy of original receipt and the exam failure notices are required to obtain a refund.
Access to Refunded Courses: When refunds are made, the course is then deactivated and it is no longer accessible to the student.
Incorrect Course Purchased: We make every effort to meet the student’s needs. Should a student discover that an incorrect course was purchased, the incorrect course will be replaced with the correct course of like price within 7 days of the date of purchase at no charge.
Unused Course: Refunds for unused online courses must be requested no later than 3 business days from the date of purchase. Administrative Fees may be deducted from any refund which requires our school to submit information to any state and/or local agency.
Online Michigan 60-Hour Program: This program is eligible for a refund of the purchase price if both parts of the exam are not passed on the first try within 60 days of purchase, providing the 3-Hour Construction Math (MP4) and both Exam Prep Courses have been completed in their entirety. The refund will be less any books that were included with the course as promotional items. Once the refund is approved, access to the 60 hour program and bonus courses will be deactivated. To obtain a full refund of your tuition, you must submit a copy of your receipt from this class, the failure notice from the original exam(s). If you are not eligible for the full class refund, the Builders License Training Institute will pay for you to retake your exam up to 6 months from the purchase date of the 60-Hour program if you do not pass either portion of the exam on your first attempt. A copy of the original receipt, the exam failure notice(s) and retest registration receipt (if applicable) are required to obtain a refund.
Course Extensions: The purchase of course extensions do not affect the initial refund policy that came with the course.
Classroom Michigan 60-Hour Program: We will pay for your exam retake if you do not pass either portion of the exam on your first attempt, providing the 3-Hour Construction Math (MP4) and both Exam Prep courses have been completed in their entirety. Due to the frequency of exam changes and material preparation enhancements, all refund guarantees will be honored up to six months from the ending class date. A copy of the original receipt, the exam failure notice(s) and retest registration receipt (if applicable) are required to obtain a refund.
Lead Paint Classes: Your course receipt clearly states the documentation required by the EPA to attend the Lead Paint or Lead Paint Refresher class. Failure to present the required copy of your initial renovator certificate at a refresher class will be handled as follows:
- If you are a past Lead Paint student with our school, please contact us at the beginning of class and we will verify your archived records and produce a copy of your certificate for the instructor so you may attend the class (a fee may be applicable). You will receive your new certificate at class.
- If you are not a past Lead Paint student with our school, your certificate must be presented via email at email@example.com, or faxed to 231-938-3374 by the next morning of the business day following the class. If we don’t receive the copy by noon (EST), we cannot include your training in the submission to the EPA and you will be removed from the class list. You will not have received your new certificate at the class and you are not eligible for a class refund because the EPA’s terms of presenting your certificate at class was not met.
The EPA is very strict on attendance requirements and has inflexible deadlines for submission of student completion by the school so we are unable to grant any exceptions to this policy.
- To cancel book or tab orders please contact us as soon as possible after placing the order and if it has not yet been shipped we will cancel your order (we “speedy ship” books as soon as the order is received whenever possible, so your order may have already been processed);
- Return book and/or tab package in new untouched condition to us (at your expense) within 7 business days from date of receipt and we will accept the return.
- “Packages” that include books and tabs will be refunded only the amount of the discounted course (the books and tabs may not be returned unless it is within 7 days of the purchase date).
All of our shipments are sent with tracking via USPS Priority Mail or FedEx to the address you gave us at registration. Most packages are shipped the same day or the next business day and reach their destination within 2-4 business days. When you don’t receive your package, you must contact us no later than 30 days from the date your order was placed. We will research with the shipping agent, however if their records indicate that the package was delivered, further investigation will be up to you. We are not responsible for the delivery arrangements you have with USPS or FedEx such as leaving packages at your front door, side door or back porch etc. Missing packages beyond the 30 day limit, will be researched to verify they were shipped to you and the tracking number given to you for further research. If you provided an old or incorrect address for shipping, we are only responsible for shipping to the address you provided at the time of the order.
Discount Coupon Code Policy: Discount codes, when available, apply to online courses only and do not apply to book purchases. All current discount offerings must be presented by the student and are valid only at the time of purchase. We reserve the right to offer special discounts for various classroom classes, courses, and states periodically and for specific course/class offerings.
The State of Michigan requires that the following verbiage be included on all classroom prelicensure courses: All tuition and fees paid by the applicant shall be refunded if requested within 3 business days after signing a contract or registering for a course with the school. No refunds are given after the 3 business days have elapsed. Courses that are 1 day to 6.5 weeks will receive no refund once the session has begun provided that the 3 business days from signing a contract has also elapsed. All refunds shall be returned within 30 days. All tuition and fees paid by the applicant shall be refunded if the applicant is rejected by the school before enrollment. An application fee of not more than $25.00 may be retained by the school if the application is denied.Again, this verbiage is required by the State of Michigan.
Guarantees are Void if your check to any of our Schools of Industry; The Builders License Class or the instructor was returned with insufficient funds in your bank account or your debit card or credit card was denied or charged back for the class, course or book purchases.
Mail requests for refunds to:
Certified Training Institute
3135 Logan Valley Rd
Traverse City, MI 49684.
This guarantee is void if your check to The Builders License Class or The Builders License Training Institute or the instructor was returned with insufficient funds in your bank account or your visa or master charge cards were denied for the class or book purchases.
Full course attendance is required. It is the responsibility of absent students to make arrangements
with the school to make up missed class time. Online courses may be substituted for missed classroom time if they are available and fulfill the same requirements.
Students are expected to arrive on time and act appropriately during class hours.
School officials have the right to dismiss a student for inappropriate or disruptive behavior.
Online course access is intended for one student per course. Multiple students are not allowed to take the same course, unless special arrangements are approved through the home office prior to beginning the course.
Your online course is accessible 24/7. The course will be available to you for six months from the purchase date (exceptions are the Michigan 21-Hour Course Package which is available for three years). If you would like to extend your access time, please contact our office to purchase an extension.
Whether you register for a class online or via the telephone, any personal information that you may share with us or any of the colleges, partnering schools or companies we are affiliated with is kept absolutely private. We do not share or sell any part of your information or anything about you.
When you register for a class or purchase study materials over the telephone, fax or place an online order, you give us your name, address, telephone number, email address and, in some cases, credit card information. You authorize us to store this information so that we may track your tuition information. All information is stored in a secure database that is not linked to the internet.
We maintain a database to look up the original course/class information to answer your questions throughout the licensing cycles. Many students misplace their continuing education certificates or the class receipt which is required for retaking a class. By storing your information, we are able to look up your original information ourselves. We preserve your history of continuing education course for you.
We only share data of those students who register for our classes/courses held at partner universities, colleges, schools or education providers or if you register via their websites.
The Certified Training Institute does not sell or share information with any other source or third party. Your information is kept private and confidential.
We strive to provide excellent education to our students. It is also very important to us that each student receive exceptional administrative and follow-up support before, during and after their education experiences. If, however, there is an issue that is causing any grievance, we would appreciate it if the student would first contact us by calling 1-800-727-7104 and allow us to find a satisfactory solution to the complaint.
If the student is still not satisfied with how the Certified Training Institute dealt with the grievance, the student may submit a formal complaint to: the State of Michigan, Department of Energy, Labor and Economic Growth, Bureau of Workforce Transformation, Victor Office Center, 201 N. Washington Square, 2nd Floor, Lansing, Michigan 48913.
If your personal information changes or you would like to review the personal information we may have on file, please email us with the new information or with an information request at firstname.lastname@example.org. We will need to know the student’s name, which city, state and the month of registration to efficiently look up your information.
Our web sites are not set up to trace, collect or distribute personal information not entered by students. Our site logs do generate certain kinds of non-identifying site usage data, such as the number of hits and visits to our site. This information is used for internal purposes only.
If you find the same course/ class for a lesser price, we will match the price. The course needs to match:
- format: online or classroom
- course content
To obtain a price match:
- Call our office at 1-800-727-7104 before you purchase a course, and
- Provide the detailed information of the other provider:
- company name.
- phone number,
- course name, etc.
The information contained in the Certified Training Institute or our Schools of Industry courses is for the sole purpose of fulfilling educational needs and should not be used as a specification guide in building projects or for legal purposes. Although all information is deemed accurate to the best of our ability, the Certified Training Institute or its Schools of Industry will not be held liable for information included in the courses if used for any purpose other than to fulfill the educational need for which the course was purchased.
It is important to us that all your questions are answered! We believe in student support through-out the registration process, moving through your online or classroom course, obtaining your certificates, preparing for exams or just helping with continued education questions. We will be there for you!
If you are looking for instructor support prior to taking your exam(s), please call at least 2-3 business days in advance to assure sufficient time is available to answer all your questions.
Due to liability issues and variations in requirements depending on the jurisdiction, we do not provide consulting for building or construction projects. Our support pertains to course content and preparing students for exams. For questions pertaining to construction projects and business attributes after you are licensed, please contact your local building department. The use of our course materials is for educational purposes only.
We have instructor support available through our office at 800-727-7104, any time during business hours Monday through Friday 9 a.m. to 5 p.m. (EST). Or, if you prefer, email your questions to email@example.com. Always include the course name and state in your messages.
Our staff will personally take your calls and answer your questions. All emails and after hour phone messages will receive a response by the end of the next business day. The staff at Certified Training Institute will take the extra steps to assure you get the best support possible.
Online Training, Continuing Education, and Exam Prep Misuse – Individuals or companies who purchase training, continuing education and/or exam prep programs may only use such training products on an individual basis for the specific registered student. Sharing a single registration, account, online course or exam prep program among multiple users is a violation of these terms of service. The learning management system tracks the number of login attempts, the number of devices logged in, time spent in each course, along with other metrics involved in student security. Companies and organizations are encouraged to contact our office regarding bulk rates on training and exam prep for multiple employees.
If it is determined that an individual, company or organization is misusing our products, or sharing their login to train multiple users with only one user account, Certified Training Institute reserves the right to invoice the individual, company or organization accordingly for training, continuing education or exam prep they have used. In determining the amount of the invoice the standard usage will be noted at 3-times the total length of the course, and usage above that will be invoiced per multiple of the total course length. (I.E. 6-hour course = 24 hours of initial use, then every 6 hours beyond initial use will be charged at the retail price via invoice). Certified Training institute reserves the right to enforce this policy on an individual basis and students who are using the program correctly and in accordance with this policy and just need extra time to study will not be charged.